#30Cubed: Week Three (and a Half)

Matt Steel
Matt Steel
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readOct 12, 2015

Hey Y’all,

We’re coming into the home stretch for the #30Cubed challenge. Next week, I’ll post the fourth and final update. For those of you who took on this project, I have two things to say. First, I invite you to pause for a moment and reflect on what you’ve accomplished in the past few weeks. You’ve created up to 27 works of art in as many days (it’s okay if you’re a little behind — I’ve only just caught up after a three-day hiatus). This is something to celebrate! I’d love to hear what you’ve experienced and learned during this time.

Second, I’d like to express my gratitude. Thank you for your vulnerability. Thank you for sharing your work with us on Instagram and/or Medium. Thank you for your willingness to create without caring too much. And thank you for showing up and trusting the creative process. I hope this exercise has been a blessing for you.

If you’re among those who have not taken up the challenge, it’s never too late to get started. While this was intended as a community project where a group of people around the world create art within the same timeframe, the main purpose was to help people discover the creative energy that is always there for the taking. You can always try this experiment in your own time.

As for the progression of my work, I’m still keeping the theme of borders in mind, although in some cases the connection to any sort of theme is tenuous at best. I’m just painting, and whatever happens, happens. I’ve moved away from semi-abstract map-like images to more gestural, almost calligraphic forms. I haven’t used pens since day 17, and so far I don’t miss them. Finally, I’ve started using salt for texture, which has yielded interesting results. I’m enjoying the unpredictable effect of salt as it soaks up the water and corrodes the pigment.

Perhaps the best part of my recent paintings is the time it takes to make them. From day 18 onward, most of them took 15 minutes or less. Knowing ahead of time that I’ll be making something gestural and loose has really freed up the process and reduced the feeling of pressure I bring to the work. I could get used to this!

As before, you can share your artwork by responding to this post on Medium.

Here’s what I’ve made recently.

Day 16
Day 17
Day 18
Day 19
Day 20
Day 21
Day 22
Day 23
Day 24
Day 25
Day 26
Day 27

--

--

Matt Steel
Matt Steel

I’m a designer who writes, father of four, and husband of one. Mostly harmless. Partner & Creative Director at Steel Brothers.