Are Introverts Being Phased Out?

Rebecca Bardess
Indiepreneur Academy Magazine
2 min readMar 7, 2013

--

When I first thought about writing books, I thought the process would be a solitary one. I pictured years in some kind of writerly tower, untouched by the world of mundane stuff. It would be me, The Muse, and the rustle of paper and pen.

Of course, it didn’t happen that way. Well, it did for a bit. Before social media hit the masses, I wrote a few books. Most of them were not intended for publication. One definitely was. I disappeared into it. My days were its days. My nights were filled with dreams of it. It wasn't so much a collection of words as an actual location.

Now, I can’t imagine being away from ‘digital people’ for that length of time. The social media tabs are always open. Part of that is due to being a columnist on the subject. I can’t escape it, because I need to know what’s happening, and why. It is very hard, however to disappear into the world of novels, in particular. Actually, even reading novels is becoming harder to do. Read a novel on a Kindle and you’re urged to share online. You get to see the mucky pencil etchings of previous readers, highlighting the fact that this book is not yours. It’s not, of course. Not if you bought it from Amazon. Every Kindle book you buy from there is not bought, but rented.

What of ‘Alone Time’?

One of my favourite videos is this

But the idea that we are ‘all connected’ isn’t always comforting. What of solitude? What of thinking deep thoughts? How can you access Truth if you’re so bogged down by opinion? If everything is about appearance, does it become ‘all style and no substance’ or is that missing the point? Wilde would probably have something eloquent to say on this. I don’t. I need to check Facebook. Toodles.

Rebecca Bardess - Indiepreneur.Academy

--

--