Redefinition.

Eric Rees
word = new Word ();
2 min readJun 12, 2019

In the same way that a person never really ends up anywhere in life solely on their own, I wouldn’t be here redefining what ‘word’ means to me if not for the help and consequence of many people.

But where is here exactly? Let me take a moment to better define that variable.

var here;
here = ‘My name is Eric Rees, I’m a twentysomething millennial living in Indianapolis, Indiana who has recently decided to take the leap of faith from my former career in marketing into the world of programming, development, and coding via an intensive coding bootcamp.’

var here;
here = ‘The blog you’ve happened to stumble upon will be an ongoing project. Over the course of my journey, you can expect me to dedicate time to the things that I’m learning as a developer, but you can also expect more meditative and introspective looks into the career journey up to this point as well as the road ahead. I’m aiming for at least two posts a week with varied types of content that surround the practical questions that come with switching careers, but also the mental aspects of this kind of change, the financial implications, and plenty of other variables. My sincerest hope for this blog is to function as a lighthouse for people who feel themselves to be in a similar situation, looking for a change.’

var here;
here = ‘This whole thing is the result of a great idea from my former coworker Steve Grossi. During our lunch that he so graciously agreed to during this transitional period, he mentioned that it might be good a good use of my talents in writing to document my journey as I go down this path. It struck me as a brilliant idea for my own self-assessment and a way for others to follow down the same road because let’s be honest, a career change is scary as hell.’

var here;
here = ‘We’re in a moment where people proficient in computer languages are in amazingly short supply. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects a 24% growth in the next ten years, which is faster than all other recorded job markets, and you can’t swing a stick on Google without finding a new blog bemoaning the shortage of tech talent. As much of a hurdle as it is to change careers, getting into development made sense for me, and might make sense for a lot of other people as well.’

So with the variable here defined a little better, I hope you’ll join me for this journey I’m about to undertake. If you have questions, comments, or advice on why the title of my blog doesn’t make sense, feel free to email or reach out to me on Twitter! I’m not too hard to find.

Thanks for reading, let’s learn something together!

--

--