Uber Car Confessions

Five Interesting Stories From The Back Seat of a Rideshare

Vinia Majaba
Word-Slingers
3 min readJan 5, 2022

--

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

I always break the ice, especially when jumping into someone’s car for the first time. “How are you, John?” I asked as I put my seat belt on. I do my best to remember their first name and call them by it. Their response, or lack thereof, dictates the flow of our conversation. If they are receptive, we talk; if not, I mind my own business.

Most of the time, drivers are receptive to conversation. So, I listened, and it's a good thing I did because they taught me so much.

Uber Driver One:

“You know, kids nowadays are so engrossed with their phones. My wife repeatedly calls my kids from the dining room to ask them to come down for dinner. I’ve found a way,” he continued. “I sent them a text, and they immediately checked their phone as soon as it pings. Bingo! They come down to eat as quickly as they read my text. It may sound silly, but it works! Technology has pros and cons. I use it to catch my kids’ attention.”

Uber Driver Two:

“You have to be a role model to your kids. Don’t ask them to eat crisps and chocolates when you are doing it yourself. Also, you have to manage your emotions. You can’t be angry with them when they are being naughty. You have to remain calm. Kids copy you, so you have to be aware that you are doing the right things because they observe your actions.”

Uber Driver Three:

“I just keep calm and carry on. Why should I let anyone steal my peace of mind by letting the other person upset me? Just look at that guy who has just honked at me? It did not bother me because I knew I wasn’t doing anything wrong. I give allowances to other drivers. I don’t know their full story or what they are going through, so I just let it pass. And yes, I still wish them well even if they honked at me.”

Uber Driver Four:

“Life is nice if you take it easy.” “What do you mean?” I asked Mr Uber Driver Four. He replied, “Well, stress kills people. Worrying doesn’t help. If something bothers you, don’t just sit there, do something about it! Take action and give it your best shot. Then, stop thinking about it because you know you have done your bit. Do you see what I’m saying?”

Uber Driver Five:

“I don’t worry about money and this and that anymore. When you reach a certain age, I’m 63 now; it makes me realise what’s important in life. I just want to see my children happy, and money can’t buy that. When they are happy, I’m happy! And you know what? “I’m here today and may not be around tomorrow, so I make the most of today.”

I don’t know whether I will see them again, especially Uber Driver 5:-)

I hope I do. One thing is for sure, it’s a refreshing feeling when someone speaks from the heart. And by listening attentively, I’ve learnt so much.

Hey there! We’d love to hear your stories. Why not check out the new publication below?

--

--