MEDIUM

A Stay-At-Home Mom’s First Month on Medium

Growth, goals and earnings

Nat Galushkin
4 min readFeb 24, 2024
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

One month.

That’s how long it’s been since I’ve joined the Medium Partner Program!

I can’t believe I made it this far. It’s not easy to admit, but I tend to start various endeavors and quit not far into them, but that is another story.

I joined the Medium Partner Program on January 24th…

And I’m still here!

I had a moment the other week where I experienced a taste of Writer’s Block, but that seems to have quickly dissipated.

Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Now onto better and more important things…

Because many of my readers seem to have enjoyed the story I wrote discussing my first two weeks on Medium, I’ve decided to make it a regular thing.

I will be putting out a monthly story on the 24th of every month, sharing my goals, my growth and my progress on Medium.

My hope is that this monthly update will:

  • Allow me to reflect on my progress and motivate me to continue writing consistently.
  • Encourage me to improve in my writing.
  • Ensure I don’t give up on my writing journey.
  • Inspire or motivate you in some way.

It’s possible these monthly updates are going to be more beneficial to me than to you, but I hope you stick around to view my monthly progress, nonetheless.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Stats

I’ve written 14 stories, three of which are poetry.

I’ve been submitting more and more of my stories to publications. I’m finally understanding how that aspect of Medium works!

Views & Reads

My stories received 261 views and 139 reads so far in the month of February.

Keep in mind, I only got 10 views and 5 reads in January, so there has been considerable improvement in my numbers.

The jump in views within the last week has me excited!

screenshot from my February stats

Followers & Email Subscribers

I have 256 Followers and 7 Email subscribers.

I am incredibly thankful for all of my dedicated readers who have chosen to stick around!

Photo by Ronnie Overgoor on Unsplash

Goals

When I started on Medium a month ago, I jumped right in without a direction in mind, but I know that if I want to maintain writing here long-term, I need to strive to improve month to month.

To do that, I need to make monthly goals.

Here are the numbers I would like to reach by March 24th, 2024:

Views: 500
Reads: 300
Followers: 500
Email subscribers: 20
Earnings: $50

As far as consistency goes, I would like to continue writing 3–4 stories per week.

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Earnings

Since joining the Medium Partner Program, I’ve made $0.95 in January and $25.54 in February.

I made $26.49 my first month on Medium!

It’s not a large sum, but it sure is more than I thought I would make the first month on here.

Here is a breakdown of my earnings from February:

screenshot from my February earnings
screenshot from my February earnings
Screenshot from my February earnings

--

--

Nat Galushkin

Wife. Mama. Friend. Honest thoughts, stories and poetry related to motherhood and life in my 30's