@swapnilsharmakr

What is supposed to work around what?

Design vs. Functionality

Swapnil
1 min readJul 20, 2013

--

So many times I have seen people try to fit the content in a design element they just created. I have seen people try to make the functionality work around the design.

Earlier it made me wonder, then I started getting amused and these days it makes me very uncomfortable.

It’s a very simple thing that, the design is supposed to work around the functionality. The functionality isn’t supposed to work around the design.

I would like to give a White stripe song reference. Effect and Cause: http://youtu.be/eK1IwHPX8Cc

Well first came an action,And then a reaction,But you can’t switch around, For your own satisfaction

Design is problem solving. Design is like Batman, who saves the world but doesn’t poke you into the eye telling that he saved the world and because of him you are alive. Design is subtle that way. Design knows how to roll.

--

--

Swapnil

Empathy, happiness, laughter. I love to enhance & create delightful experiences in products and in life.