Did you get a full request?

Quinn Li
Words Alike
Published in
Jul 31, 2022

Surely as a querying writer you have wondered, at least once, what does a full request look like, so I know when I get one?

Theoretically, you could wait until you receive your first one, but the insatiable curiosity still remains and we wonder what everyone else is getting or if there could’ve been more to it.

Honestly here because I need a cover image

I spoke to a few querying writer’s aside from myself about what their full requests were like, and today I present snapshots of wording and emails for your viewing.

I’ve grouped some into bolded headings with age market and genre, while a few in misc as they were small in numbers.

YA Contemporary Romance

Dear Riley, I read your pages for CHARLIE GOES OFF SCRIPT and would love to see more. Could you please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript? I’m looking forward to reading it!
Dear Riley, My name is Lauren Albury and I will be the point-of-contact during tour submission process with Holloway Literary. Bethany is interested in seeing more of your manuscript and would like to request a partial. Please send me the first 50 pages of your manuscript attached as a Microsoft Word document. Include the summary of your story from the query in the body of the email and in the subject header, please write the follow: Requested Partial: Agent’s Name/Title/Genre.
Hi Riley, Thank you for submitting your query. I would love to take a closer look! Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript and synopsis when you have a chance. I’m looking forward to reading more.
Dear Riley, I was engaged by your sample of CHARLIE GOES OFF SCRIPT and would like to read more. Please send me your full manuscript by following the submission upload instructions. If you haven’t heard from me in 8–10 weeks, or if you have news related to your querying process, please feel free to send me a note.
Dear Riley, Thank you so much for your query. I’m intrigued by the description of your project. Could you send me the full manuscript as a Word doc attachment? You can send it directly to me at special email address.
Dear Riley, I’d love to read more of Charlie Goes Off Script. Please follow the instructions below to upload the full manuscript.
Hi, Thank you for your query! Would you mind sending along the full manuscript with your query letter pasted on the first page?
Dear Riley, I have read and enjoyed your query for Charlie Goes Off Script and would like to read more. Please follow the instructions below to upload the first 100 pages of your manuscript.
Dear Riley, I have read your query for Charlie Goes Off Script and would love to take a look at the full manuscript. Please paste your original query letter as the first page of your document before uploading.
Dear Riley, I have read your query for Charlie Goes Off Script and found it promising. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript. I’m eager to read it.
Thank you for the chance to consider your work, and apologies for my slow reply. This sounds fantastic-I’d love a chance to read more if it is still available. Can you please send the full manuscript attached as a word doc to email address with the query pasted onto the first page of the document? If available, please also include a 1–3 page synopsis
I have read your query and found it interesting. Please follow the instructions to upload your full manuscript. I’m looking forward to reading it.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the first 3 chapters of TELL ME IT’S OKAY. The characters were complex and realistic while the story was heartfelt and meaningful. I am thrilled to request your full manuscript. I look forward to reading the rest of Theodore’s journey!
Thanks so much for thinking of BookEnds and giving me the chance to review your work! I would love to take a look at your material. Please send the synopsis along with the full manuscript as a Word document. If possible, please include our email correspondence at the start of the document when you submit so I can keep everything in one place! Your query hooked me, I can’t wait to read your pages and learn more about your story

YA Fantasy

Hi Quinton, I love the sound of this. Could you send the full manuscript as a Word attachment? Looking forward to reading more,
Hi Quinton. Thank you so much for sending this along! It’s lovely to hear from you. I would love to keep reading TELL ME HOW IT ENDS. Could you send along the full manuscript attached as a word document?
Hi Quinton, Thank you for your query! Would you mind sending along the full manuscript with your query letter pasted on the first page?
Hi Quinn, Thank you for submitting TELL ME HOW IT ENDS for consideration. We were intrigued by your premise and sample pages, but most of all by your author’s voice and tight writing. We seek authors who have developed their craft and are close to publishing-ready with their manuscript. For this reason, we’d like to read more. Please send your full manuscript to special email when you get a chance
Hi Quinton, Thank you for reaching out and for your patience while I read your query. This sounds intriguing, and I would love to read you full MS.
Hi Ellyse, I’d love to read more! Can you send me the full manuscript as a PDF attachment?

Adult Romance-Comedy

Dear Colby, I figured IF I STOPPED HATING YOU would be a fit, but this seals the deal. AND now I have to figure out how to get invited to a writing retreat at a haunted Scottish castle (or do I?) Please follow the instructions below to upload your manuscript. I’m excited to read more!
Dear Colby, I have read your query for IF I STOPPED HATING YOU and it sounds intriguing! Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript
Dear Colby, Thanks for sending IF I STOPPED HATING YOU my way. This sounds so interesting! Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript. I’m really looking forward to reading on!

Women’s Fiction

Dear Rebecca, I would be happy to read THIRD AND LONG. Please email it directly to me at special email with the subject line “THIRD AND LONG- Requested” and include your query letter and author bio when you reply.
Dear Rebecca, I have read your query for THIRD AND LONG and would love to read more. My brother is involved with ECAD in Connecticut, so this storyline resonates with me. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript. I’m looking forward to reading it.
Hi Rebecca, I would love to read your manuscript. Please send along as an attachment
Dear Name, We have read your query for WHERE OUR CLOSURE BEGINS and we are excited to see more. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript.

Middle Grade Horror

Dear Name, Thank you for your query. I’d be happy to take a look at your manuscript. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full. I’m looking forward to reading it.
Thank you for querying BookEnds and giving me the opportunity to read your work. I have read your query and would love to see more. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full manuscript and a synopsis in word documents only.
I hope this finds you well. Thank you so much for sending me your query. I’d be delighted to take a look at the full manuscript if you’d like to send it along. Word or PDF is fine, and please include your query below on the first page.
We would be happy to consider your submission. Please click on the link below to upload a double spaced PDF of your full manuscript and execute a Submission Release Agreement.
Thank you so much for your query. I’m intrigued by the description of your project. Could you send me the full manuscript as a Word doc attachment? You can send it directly to me at…

Miscellaneous Full Requests

Thank you for your query. I’d be happy to take a look at your manuscript. Please follow the instructions below to upload your full. I’m looking forward to reading it.
Young Adult Non fiction
Adult Literary Fantasy
Adult Literary Fantasy

--

--