Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell
Published in
Jan 30, 2022

--

Colliding

I’ve met a million faces, each one sure they’re pretty as hell.

I’ve heard a million voices, each one with a story to tell.

We sit there raising our glasses, pretending to see it as something so true.

But as soon as it is over, I find myself thinking it’s not me, it’s you.

And it’s true what they say.

That when you’re looking for it it won’t come.

I was in no state to introduce you to my world.

But something about that chance encounter made me believe in human connection again.

What is it about your aura that magnetises me toward you?

Your quiet and calm demeanour never asked to take centre stage in my brain.

But when I kissed you, it felt real.

And when you smile, I finally feel.

--

--

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell

30-something Poet & Writer from the most isolated city in the world.