Feeling Again.

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell
Published in
Feb 16, 2022

I’m checking my phone more times than I’d like to admit.

Just a silly crush but I know that’s not it.

And I have somebody at home all the same.

But lately I think of a different name.

I thought this was past me. I thought I had froze.

And got icy and jaded and that’s what I chose.

And while I hate to feel like I’m scared of the pain.

There’s beauty in knowing I’ve felt it again.

And even if I know where it’ll eventually lead.

You still have a way of keeping me on the edge of my seat.

So, look, I’ll surrender. I’ll wait this one out.

I’ll be hopeful and daydream I’ll figure you out.

And while I’m there maybe I’ll figure me out too.

And the powerful reason I’m drawn towards you.

--

--

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell

30-something Poet & Writer from the most isolated city in the world.