New Starts & Black Hearts

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2018

I drive up from the city;

Passing memories.

Haunting like I still care.

But I’ve forgotten who I was before.

I just keep on driving;

Moving way beyond the pictures in my mind.

Hoping to find.

You’re my rising smoke.

Slowly suffocating;

Blanketing my emotions;

Fill my heart up with black.

I don’t care anymore.

You’re intoxicating to me.

You fail to see what I see;

But where there’s smoke there is always fire.

Every inch that I take;

Closer to your mouth.

Can see you whisper my name;

And the fork that is your tongue.

You don’t care about my past;

I made mistakes.

I burned that picket fence right down.

Your new mantra is ignorance is bliss.

And I just pray that you’ll be my prey tonight.

You’re my rising smoke.

Slowly suffocating;

Blanketing my emotions;

Fill my heart up with black.

I don’t care anymore.

You’re intoxicating to me.

You fail to see what I see.

But where there’s smoke there is always fire.

I am so dangerous. You are so dangerous.

And it is perilous, the journey that we’ve begun.

But if it’s scandalous. I’ll print the tabloids out myself.

It is tempestuous.

And I’m already drowning.

Cut the chord.

Couldn’t bare to be attached for a moment longer.

Stealing all the life out of me.

Splitting headaches on the bathroom floor;

I couldn’t take it anymore.

Even when they scream my name;

It’s clear that I am not the same.

You’re my rising smoke;

Blanketing my emotions;

Fill my heart up with black.

I don’t care anymore.

You’re intoxicating to me.

You fail to see what I see.

But where there’s smoke there is always fire.

--

--

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell

30-something Poet & Writer from the most isolated city in the world.