You, the wild ocean.

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell
1 min readJul 24, 2020

--

I squeeze your hand while you’re asleep

Just to make sure you’re real

It’s been a struggle finding you

Keeping you feels daunting

You make me so mad sometimes

We can’t get on the same page

I have to keep reminding myself

We are the same damn book

And life gets so challenging

Tasks pile up like washed up debris

Sometimes you’re the only one looking out through the clearing fog

The only one who seems to notice me when I smile

Tribulations never erode your spirit

Your tenacity only grows

But me, I need help navigating sometimes

You’re the compass keeping me on course

And you push me forward under the waves

Where the noises are muffled but the water is clear

And I can focus on propelling forward

Towards the horizon

You’re the current I am happy to surrender to.

--

--

Mitchell Penny
Words by Mitchell

30-something Poet & Writer from the most isolated city in the world.