John Oliver Needs To Go

I’ve had it with late night’s whiny nincompoop.

Luke Trayser
Words for Life
2 min readMar 6, 2017

--

Every Monday morning, the Internet punches me in the face with the latest episode of Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (great name). I am sick of it. Here’s why.

I actually love John Oliver. A lot. The story he did on gun control for The Daily Show remains one of the greatest pieces of TV I’ve seen. I think John Oliver and Philip Van Cleave might be the best comedy team of all time.

John Oliver is a treasure, he’s more effective than Tylenol, and he might singlehandedly save the world.

This entire premise was a trojan horse. Now that you’ve taken the bait, you can learn this incredibly easy recipe for the fluffiest pancakes you will ever make.

The Fluffiest Pancakes You Will Ever Make

Dry ingredients

1.5 cups of flour
3 tablespoons of sugar
3.5 teaspoons of baking powder
0.5 teaspoons of salt

Mix together in a bowl.

Wet ingredients (lol “wet ingredients.” Gross.)

1 egg
3 tablespoons of melted butter
1 cup of milk

Mix together in a separate bowl, then combine with dry mix.

Optional ingredients

Love
Chocolate Chips
Twix
Bacon
Twix and Bacon

Directions

Mix everything together with a whisk, scoop the batter onto a hot skillet, watch for bubbles, flip confidently, and devour.

Yield

Roughly 12 pancakes, scooped 1/4 cup at a time.

Notes and anecdotes

  • I like to use much more milk than the recipe calls for; in fact, I’d say I have closer to a 1:1 ratio of flour:milk. I prefer my batter extra runny, and more milk does the trick. “Extra runny batter” is a really fun phrase, btw. It’s also a great way to describe Rickey Henderson.
  • Baking powder is the unsung hero of this recipe, and it deserves recognition. These pancakes are so fluffy. Like, so fluffy. Thank you, baking powder. I love you.
  • Unless you have four hungry people, I advise you to scale the ingredient proportions back a bit. I typically use two-thirds of the ingredients for my wife, my boy, and me. She eats two pancakes, he eats two, and I eat four because I love pancakes and I eat them until I feel regret.
  • A guy named Keith signs my checks. Before he launched Ivor Andrew, he worked his way through college at the UW-Madison IHOP. The graveyard shift. That means he was a server, a bouncer, and a pancake expert. He gave me this recipe. It is now yours. Enjoy.

Shoutout to Glenn Rockowitz for inspiring this post. If you use this recipe, please take pictures of your pancakes and send them to me on Twitter. Thanks.

--

--

Luke Trayser
Words for Life

ACD and copy guy at Ivor Andrew. Freelance copywriting mercenary. Not my real hair. Get in touch on Twitter or email ltrayser at gmail.