POETRY | LOVE | REGRET

I Did Not Say It When

Say “I love you” when you have the chance; it may not come again

The image is of a young man lying on his side in bed facing the camera, witha depressed look on his face.
Depressed | credit: tomaso79 | iStock (under license)

When first we met
I might have said,
“I will not love thee for thy life
But for the rest of mine.”

Now that thou art gone
I might say,
“I will not love thee
Till Death us do part
But till it doth us rejoin,

“Through forever and to the end
Of all the souls in all
The worlds, and then
Yet one night more.”

Though naught
I might say
Will bring relief,
For I did not say it when.

© 1995 Steve Alexander

--

--

The Wordsmith🏳️‍🌈🇺🇸™
One Gay Man’s Perspective

Alex (Steve Alexander)/Existentialist Extraordinaire/Opinionated & grumpy gay septuagenarian contrarian content in his current station/alxfyv.Medium@gmail.com