Technoplegia: Feeling Paralysed When Faced With Technology — English

On the scary and shady sides of technology, and a call to our consciousness to be on the job constantly

Gulsun Uluer
Words of the World

--

Photo by Maximalfocus on Unsplash

Does technology scare you?

If not, I’m curious why. I really would like to learn how do you manage to normalize a world-ruling power that is completely unpredictable.

I am often scared of technology.

It may seem unusual to say this as an engineer who has worked in IT for nearly two decades, but it is true. Although I was never in love with technology and never subscribe to technology journals or followed the flood of innovations, I did admire the aspect of information technologies that presented endless chances to address practical problems. What we were able to do was almost entirely limited by our imagination. Every day, I saw young people create virtual worlds out of nothing through collaborative efforts. It was a wonderful experience, and the most satisfying part of my job.

But there was also a shady side to technology that always pushed me away. It prevented me from being able to fully embrace it, take refuge in it, and trust it.

Technology was something much bigger than me.

--

--