Christmas

Magdalena Ciniewska
The Refugium for Words
1 min readDec 23, 2018

The market and streets stand still and ghostly,
Each house in all the silence glows,
Along the lanes my thoughts come with me,
As the festive spirit ever grows.

In every window a housewive places
A toy with colours of faith a‑gleam
A thousand children’s enchanted faces
Silently wonder their happy dream.

Now away I wander beyond the wall
Out to where the fields are free,
To towering beauty, to holy awe,
To the grand and silent world I see!

The stars weave round and all the spheres
And in that solitude of snow
Are songs such as an angel hears –
And oh, the time of grace I know.

(Joseph Freiherr von Eichendorff / Translation, ©: Barry Tobin )

I wish you not forget to walk tomorrow in the empty streets of the city and hug the holiness of Christmas.

We can only dream about white fields and sparks of snow -at least in Poland. But let the carols in your homes be heard, and in this way the time full of God’s favors could be restored.

I wish you a lot of relief and peace, especially because tomorrow the world will stop and fall silent for a moment.

Your M :)

--

--

Magdalena Ciniewska
The Refugium for Words

I write. I prefer to be considered insolent than never to try. I follow the words that call me. I live in Poland.