Mini art therapy and the power of architecture

Magdalena Ciniewska
The Refugium for Words
3 min readApr 2, 2023
Columbus City Hall

I haven’t traveled much in my life. I don’t remember too many monuments that captivated me. However, I have a deep conviction that publicly important places should be designed with humility and understanding that they are to serve many years to many generations. I would like them to give the opportunity to ordinary people to be in a harmoniously beautiful environment.

This may be the moment that is enough to send a registered letter in the post office building.

Or maybe it will be a moment spent choosing a book to read in the library building?

Or maybe it will be a moment spent after watching the exhibition, in the corridors and interiors where time has stopped, in the museum building?

Or maybe it will be time spent on treatment in a place that has been designed not only to store sick patients for the duration of treatment, but as a result of a deep conviction that what they will have to look at in this place may decide about their recovery?

I don’t know what the situation of public buildings is like in your cities? Certainly, many such buildings exist and I hope that they are also being built. With a view to the human community and having its source in the idea of soothing influence on space and people.

However, if you would like to spend a few moments in a city that has become a mecca of modernist masterpieces?

If you want to listen to stories about architecture that may heal both soul and body?

If you want, the film “Columbus” directed by Kogonada will take you to such a place:

Columbus (2017) — IMDb

After watching this film, you may start to move around your city differently.

You will look at the public space with different eyes.

Certainly, it is also worth making your own list of buildings that are an example of architecture available and working on us in a soothing way.

And why architecture took on such importance for the heroine of the film?

“There were nights when my mom wouldn’t come home. I had no idea where she was. I started coming here -(Irwin Union Bank- a building designed by Deborah Berg). That calmed me down. In the midst of all the mess, I found harmony.”

I have also such building in Poland, in my city Zabrze, near my home:

Saint Joseph’s Church in Zabrze

I’m very curious what would be on your lists of architecture that heals?

I personally, before this film, never thought about architecture in this way, although I unconsciously experienced the beneficial effects of it.

M.

--

--

Magdalena Ciniewska
The Refugium for Words

I write. I prefer to be considered insolent than never to try. I follow the words that call me. I live in Poland.