Getting inside my character

Tammy Brimner
Words on the Wing
2 min readNov 19, 2022

--

Dream Studio AI generated photo

I can’t stop thinking about a story line.

I feel like I have spent so much time thinking about it, I feel like I am actually getting inside my main character’s head.

Scene by scene, I am picturing what my lead must be thinking at that moment and what he must be doing.

Notice how I said I’m picturing my lead?

I have come to accept that I am very much a visual person.

I see a scene in my head and then I write it down.

Visualising allows me to be the character, to know how he feels, what he sees, what he does and what he hears.

But I’m a woman writing about a male character.

I am definitely going to need help.

So I talk about this with my husband, who provides different perspectives and insights into what guys do and think.

It’s pretty amazing actually. Sometimes even a little frightening! Our worlds are so different at times.

But we are all human.

And that is something I can relate to.

How do you relate to your characters?

Tammy Brimner is a writer, professional photographer and leadership consultant with a passion for leadership development and improved organisational culture stemming from over 25 years working in a large, complex and multifaceted organisation. She is also a Certified Organisational Coach, an aspiring author, singer/songwriter, a fair weather golfer, and a cyclist.

Follow Tammy on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/tammy-brimner

--

--

Tammy Brimner
Words on the Wing

Writer. Photographer. Leadership Consultant. Aspiring Author.