Maximizing An Obsession

Tammy Brimner
Words on the Wing
2 min readJul 18, 2022

--

My obsession

I am obsessed with watching Asian dramas.

This new love affair started during 2020. After tiring of American TV, I found myself enjoying visits to other worlds, particularly those so different from my own. This was my personal time, not to be shared with others (except the couple of friends who I DM’ed to share favorites and recommendations).

I watched so many Asian dramas on Netflix our profile soon became uninhabitable for my husband and he ended up moving to a guest profile. I also subscribed to Viki.com for additional hours of enjoyment.

I soon realized there were patterns in what I was watching — the story structure always started with a conflict, the introduction of the cast of characters, and a series of events which lead to some form of resolution. However, that series of events usually includes some serious plot twists which end up tying it all together quite nicely. Also, dramas only exist because someone couldn’t or didn’t tell someone else something they should have.

This became a bit of an obsession though.

I carried some guilt around with me every time I realized how much I had personally invested in these dramas.

But then I read a quote in The Memoir Project by Marion Roach Smith which warmed my heart:

“The next time you watch Meryl Streep transport herself from one emotion to the next, note the spare gesture she employs. Capture effective dialogue you overhear.”

I won’t be watching Meryl Streep anytime soon but I now take comfort when watching the range of emotion displayed by my Asian actors and how long they hold on to their despair and agony.

This is now research for my fictional characters.

So don’t bug me when I’m working.

Tammy Brimner is a writer, professional photographer and leadership consultant with a passion for leadership development and improved organizational culture stemming from over 25 years working in a large, complex and multifaceted organization. She is also a Certified Organizational Coach, an aspiring author, singer/songwriter, a fair weather golfer, a cyclist and an amateur yogi.

Follow Tammy on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/tammy-brimner

--

--

Tammy Brimner
Words on the Wing

Writer. Photographer. Leadership Consultant. Aspiring Author.