Antidepressant

Sharice Wells
Wordsmith Library
Published in
Mar 24, 2021
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

As I sit there in silence
Pain in my heart
Mind ready to rage
My body remains unmoving
Serotonin levels hindered
To protect me from myself
This magic pill for help
Turned me into a zombie
False promises of a normal
Doctor claims to spare my life
But is this living

My mom is two people
My sister hears voices
And I can’t find life worth living
Praying in hopes to change that
Even that seems hopeless
When did numbing equal healing
When did the healer act like a villain
Stuck in this never ending cycle
Fighting to stop myself from feeling

Can’t be living

Only existing

--

--

Sharice Wells
Wordsmith Library

Avid reader with many thoughts. I love discussing finance and writing pieces about mental health and social activism.