Can You Hear Me?

unspoken thoughts

Sharice Wells
Wordsmith Library
1 min readApr 2, 2021

--

Photo by Obi Onyeador on Unsplash

I wish people could hear me
Not the mere words from my mouth
But the feelings from my heart
The thoughts in my mind

Because I’m not good at expressing them

I wish people could hear my insides
Screaming through my fixed smile
But I can’t release the curve of my lips
I’m aware that I’m inwardly drowning

Yet I can’t bring myself to say it

I wish people could hear beyond my list of successes
And hear the overcompensation of achievements
Recognize the hiding from reality
I’m not actually doing what I want nor am I where I want to be

But who would even hear that if I spoke

I wish people could hear my voice
Noticing the slight inflections
Fueled by my past traumas
Destroying my present day

Still I can’t vocalize anything beneath the surface

Even though I didn’t verbalize it
Can you still hear me?

--

--

Sharice Wells
Wordsmith Library

Avid reader with many thoughts. I love discussing finance and writing pieces about mental health and social activism.