In The Cages Beside Me

No More Puppy Mills

Melissa R. Mendelson
Wordsmith Library
Published in
1 min readApr 11, 2021

--

Photo by Vijeshwar Datt on Unsplash

I’m used to the smell but not the clang,

the slamming of metal doors,

the harsh hands reaching inside.

They only see the green.

I don’t see my friend anymore.

His back toward me,

a SOLD Sign on his cage,

but despite all that pain,

that fear and sadness,

he managed to escape.

But here I remain,

hearing shreds of hope through the door,

promise of family,

but then I coughed and coughed again.

They’d be stuck with me.

My life left in limbo.

My future uncertain.

Just like with those in the cages beside me.

Last night, I went to bed sick. My parents were ready to pay thousands for a puppy, but then they read the reviews. The place is known for being a Puppy Mill. People had lost thousands to them, and the animals were sick. Some of them didn’t make it, and the others… Maybe, I don’t want to know.

Thank You for reading my writing. Please, keep in touch, following me here and on Twitter.

--

--