The Restless Birds

Free Verse

Kush Dubey
Wordsmith Library
1 min readApr 17, 2021

--

Photo by Matheo JBT on Unsplash

on the signs of waning,
when they gradually starts drinking wine,
with smeared faces of oranges and
spills of yellow,
I see you yet again,
plunging into those vast realms of horizons;

when you are gone,
they gather, they come for you,
they inquire, they're ostensibly sad,
before they talk about fashions of the world,
rumours, rums and affairs;

I lie here, on these stubbles of freedom,
over the woods of faith, burning under the
fire of emancipation,
watching you go,
clueless, I don't have either,
the answers or the energy,
to tell them that you'll come again;

how could I possibly?
I'm like a shell after metamorphosis,
carrying you till the crack of life,
in this fucked up world,
with my pregnant mind,
unshaved body,
and a breached soul;

you’ll meet me when the circles end,
when the natives are foreign,
the constants variable,
the answers so different,
but the hallelujah same;

but by that time, I won't remember you,
I won't remember the names, the questions,
I won't remember to tell them, that
that's how it goes;
and when I do,
you'll be gone again.

--

--

Kush Dubey
Wordsmith Library

With all full head, We speak so little. I say a poem.