The Tropical Anthem

An interlude to ponder upon

Utukkapattavarin Kural
Wordsmith Library
1 min readOct 12, 2020

--

The image is taken from the author’s photo collection

Prickly heat, sweaty pants, dehydration
The tropical summer near the equator
Sweat drops flowing through my skin
As if I took a shower just a second ago

The monsoon winds making
Winters dry and summers wet
The rarity of the conditions
Reflection of endemism in flora and fauna

Prickly heat, sweaty pants, the thirst
That knows not to drink or to eat
A great mix for the fungal heaven
Say hello! to skin infections if you are not dry

I envy the temperates saying,
‘Man, you are so cool!’
The tropical dream of cool summers
Never-ending dreams of playing in the snow

Prickly heat, sweaty pants,
I wonder does sun like us more
Shining above us, effervescent always
Making us feel his presence through heat

Little do I know that temperates envy me,
Saying, ‘Girl! You are hot!’
Mangoes to feast upon, the king of fruits
Our own taste of a healthy recipe

Summer in the tropics
Dehydrating sunburns
Winter in the temperates
Freezing frostbites

As I realize, the beauty of nature
Her enigmatic charisma and charm
Mesmerizing me from beneath the surface
The dream of a nature lover

--

--