Trapped in a State of YouTube

Omar Almasri
Wordsmith Library
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2020

An elongated pastime.

Photo by CardMapr on Unsplash

The YouTube-verse

A never-ending vortex, a Netflix infused with Livestrong-glazed steroids

that I can’t climb out of

Logged in, on Autoplay

Laying still, idle, static

Just staring, intently

at why Ellen sucks

why some Disney movies were incestuously creepy

why the 50’s commercials were misogynistic

at a guy with a British accent yelling at his Reddit page for 10 minutes

at another British fella going all Dr. Phil on other YouTubers

Four hours and counting….

Where the hell am I?

What the hell am I doing?

Why am I still here?

Why am I not outside enjoying the fresh, windy humidity?

Why am I not downstairs enjoying the company of my family and cat?

What am I not hellbent on completing my PhD proposal?

Just a body movement away from climbing out of my futility,

and perform an act of fundamentality

But… I just can’t

I need another hit,

to stay lit

I need to remain in this pit

One more video, and I log off

One more video, and I’ll run, on a treadmill and not an Autoplay marathon

One more video, and I’ll write, worthwhile content and not a nitpicky comment

One more video, and I’ll talk, with someone besides myself and a KSI

One more video, and I’ll move from bed to couch

One more video, and I’ll shower and brush

One….just one…..

And…the next day comes, the sun climbs up, and my YouTube is still on my bedside on Autoplay

--

--

Omar Almasri
Wordsmith Library

A freelance writer based in Jordan, dabbling in the arts of poetry and storytelling. Follow me on Twitter @OAlmasri.