Visitors

A Poem Soothing Negative Thoughts During Tough Times

Imane
Wordsmith Library
1 min readJun 9, 2022

--

Photo by mehrab sium on Unsplash

Visitors

Here we go again,

Forcing a smile again

Forgot to close the gate again

A gate whose password I reset

Over and over again

*

Feeble attempts of change

Get stuck between the lines

Of uninvited guests, who

Creep their way inside

My mind…

Chamber of light

*

Chamber of darkness

Whose light is dim

Flickering between thoughts

Of hope and despair

“Help” is but a whisper, yet

Smacks against nothingness

Now, I feel…

Broken beyond repair

*

Trying to change the show

Laughing in the mirror

Perhaps these thoughts go

If only my smile got wider

Bigger.

Like I mean it. “Try harder”

Always harder

Perhaps faster

For recovery takes time

And time is my currency

Their asset, if they overstay

*

What’s next?

Questions of “why” fill my head

Why now, why me, why here

Disheartened by my own fear

Always looking for “better”

Settling for ‘good’? never

Falling in love with the pressure

Sometimes, hating each other

*

Here I go again

Forcing a smile again

Welcoming my visitors again

Changing my show again

Over and over again

Resistent no more, gently

Letting them go again

-Imane Ben

--

--