White and Purple Cosmos

Free verse poetry

Sanjit Sengupta
Wordsmith Library
Jan 2, 2021

--

Photo: Amrita Sengupta

The white flower says to the purple flower
You are my little sister
We have grown up together
In the same backyard
With the same gardeners
Now listen to me
While I give you some good advice.

As you know
We had a privileged upbringing
Plenty of water
Abundant sunshine
Compost when we needed it
Birds and insects
To keep us company.

As young adults
We need to use our experience
To forge a new life for ourselves
Independent of our seeds
Self-sufficient in our needs
Be healthy and happy
And make contributions to others.

What more do you need
To make this happen?
You have the values
But need the motivation
Complete your education
The real job lies ahead
To bring you true satisfaction.

--

--

Sanjit Sengupta
Wordsmith Library

I like to express myself creatively in my haiku, poems and short stories.