Words That Matter
Published in

Words That Matter


WW e are all fools in one way or another. Fools for love, fools for vanity, fools for greed and arrogance, laziness and envy.

In the fourth century AD, the Egyptian hermit Evagrius the Solitary classified human failings into eight major groups. In 590, Pope Gregory I revised Evagrius’ list to create the canonical seven deadly sins of the Catholic Church: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride, which were to be defeated by the cultivation of the corresponding virtues of…




Some of the year’s most influential writers, thinkers, and experts reflect on the words that matter most in 2018.

Recommended from Medium

Local Social Media is the Answer

Controlling the Conversation on Trans Content

Facebook, Twitter Ill-Equipped to Stop Repeat of 2016 Meddling

What Your Smartphone Use May be Saying About You

Solcial is the first really decentralized social network!


Internet, the cause of making peoples private life public.

“Anyone can vote” — A significant new feature for ClearPoll is coming

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Tim O'Reilly

Tim O'Reilly

Founder and CEO, O'Reilly Media. Watching the alpha geeks, sharing their stories, helping the future unfold.

More from Medium

algorithms and data structures every coder must know:

What you should know about Quantum Compute

The end of the data scientist ?

Statistics_part 3