The Wavicle Theory of Work

3 Techniques of Journaling Work and the Slipperyness of Tasks

Stowe Boyd
Work Futures
1 min readApr 4, 2018

--

I have been using Flow (getflow.com) as a work management/work journaling platform for months.

However, Flow is trending more toward features suited to larger team project management, which don’t really match my focus. That focus is journaling my work, and lightweight task and project sharing with smaller teams. I am not knocking implementation of Gantt charts and Kanban cards, but they’re not central to my needs.

Secondly, I recently came upon a better set of techniques to manage my work journaling, and the features of Todoist line up really well for that, better than Flow does.

3 Techniques for Journaling Work

I basically employ three styles of work journaling:

  1. On a daily basis, I plan and track my work with the ‘1, 2, 3′ technique.
  2. On a weekly basis, I plan and track using the ‘must, should, might’ technique.
  3. On ‘agenda’ projects, I plan and track using the ‘do, do, do’ technique. I use the term ‘agenda’ to distinguish with the short-range calendar orientation of daily and weekly projects. This will make more sense, later on.

Read the rest of this story at workfutures.org.

--

--

Stowe Boyd
Work Futures

Insatiably curious. Economics, sociology, ecology, tools for thought. See also workfutures.io, workings.co, and my On The Radar column.