2019 May Blog Review

Monthly Blog Review

Dana C
Work In Progress Blogs
3 min readJun 3, 2019

--

What We Did This Month

  • We interviewed 3 people! The interviews will be published soon and we are so excited to share with you. One interviewee is a serial career changer, another switched from a makeup artist to yoga instructor, and our last guest switched from finance to software developer and now is very active and well connected on Twitter. These guests had amazing stories and we learned so much from them
  • New skill learned: audio editing for our podcasts. I wish I started this sooner but the end of April was hit by learning my aunt’s passing and for the rest of the month I just didn’t have the energy to do it. We continued to interview and now have accumulated a few that need to be edited. This took quite some time but I found it really fun! This definitely turned out to be more time consuming than I thought, because I combed through the entire recording and tried to trim out the “ummms” and “ahhhs” and the awkward silence
  • We are now just getting used to writing the longer instagram captions. It felt really odd for some reason but I’ve learned that it can be done. And since most of our instagram posts are related to our posts on medium, it wasn’t hard to write longer captions. Longer captions helped us better express thoughts than short ones so this was definitely a good switch
  • Did my productivity improve? This is one of the things I wanted to work on last month, since I noticed that I was focusing too much on the blog and ignoring the other important things in life — family, health, etc. I’m sad to sad to say that I didn’t really work on my productivity; I wish I could blame it all on the family emergency earlier this month but that wasn’t all of the story. This will remain on the to do list for next month

Metrics

Plan For Next Month

  • In this coming month we plan to listen to more podcasts to learn about what’s good podcasting and produce better quality ones
  • Interview 4 people
  • Launch podcast by the end of June
  • Increase productivity so I can put more time into the important things in life

Onwards & Upwards!

Photo by Elena Koycheva on Unsplash

Work In Progress is a blog hosted by two twin sisters passionate about transitions in life and career. We regularly reflect on our progress to see how we measure up to what we set out to do. The monthly blog reviews serve as a check point for each month’s progress.

--

--