How They Did It | Karen Maloney From Events Management To Coaching

Dana C
Work In Progress Blogs
37 min readJan 9, 2021

This post has the key topics and resources mentioned in this episode. The original interview is published on Work In Progress Podcast. Transcript can be found at the bottom of this page.

Karen’s career started in events management and she, like many of our interviewees, had no idea she would end up doing what she does now. This is what she loves about her career change:

“The freedom to do whatever I want, when I want and to experiment with different ideas etc without having to follow ‘protocol’ or wait for approval.”

IN A NUTSHELL

  • What she did in the past Events management and coordinating, Charity
  • What she does now INSIDE OUT Coach for women; her goal is to help women cultivate self-approval from within. She is also the host of the Curiosity & Consciousness podcast
  • Where to find her online Website, LinkedIn, Instagram, Twitter, Podcast
  • Resources cacao ceremony

TOPICS

01:09 Introducing Karen
02:37 Karen didn’t know she would end up coaching
05:48 Karen’s first time speaking to a group
09:37 How Karen got started with event management
15:20 What were the first days on the job like
16:20 How long did she work as an event manager
23:46 Karen’s experiences after quitting her job
27:17 Why she chose to move
28:59 Karen talks about her trip
32:12 The Tony Robbins event that started it all
34:07 Highlights of the Tony Robbins event
37:52 Finding her first clients
39:14 How friends and family reacted when Karen quit her stable job
41:10 Memorable moments throughout her career journey
48:08 Details about her coaching

THE DEEP DIVE

The trip to South America was the tipping point—

Multiple life events led her to the realization that she wanted to stop working for someone else and pursue a career on her own. But of all the things that came into play, traveling was the one that had the biggest impact on her. Karen recalls how she knew it was time to leave the nine to five when she got home from South America in 2018. At that point, she had done enough traveling to see how alive and incredible it felt to not follow someone else’s schedule. She wanted to work from anywhere in the world and she wanted the flexibility to have her own hours — even if that meant working into the evening on some nights. She was done with asking for time off or playing by someone else’s rules. And although the idea of quitting terrified her, she knew going back would not give her the life she wanted. So she quit.

The gift from the break up —

In 2016, Karen went through a traumatic break up that left her heartbroken and unable to function on most days. One day, when she was in another bout of crying, she suddenly felt a wave of serenity and peacefulness washing over her. Next, she heard a voice that said “Okay, Karen, you have two choices here. You can stay exactly as you are: crying nonstop, asking a million and more questions, not talking to anyone and missing out on your life — OR you accept this as your reality and live your life again.” In this instant, she realized that she cannot “unhappen” what’s happened, but she can move on. What she does from now on is completely her choice. Things got a lot easier after this shift, she was able to move through pain and slowly pick herself back up. This would eventually have a profound impact on her emotional resilience and coaching practice.

TRANSCRIPT

Karen 0:00
Everyone will experience pain. You know, there is pain in life through loss through grief. It’s a part of life. But suffering, suffering is optional. And suffering comes down to us, and how we choose to think about it, the meaning we choose to create, and the thoughts we think and the stories we build.

Good morning. Good afternoon. Good evening, wherever you are. Welcome back to the work in progress podcast. Today, we’re talking to Karen, who made a transition from events management to coaching, where she helps women achieve more by cultivating self approval from within. So Karen, welcome to our podcast. We’re very excited that you’re here with us. I would like to sorry.

Karen 1:32
Now. Already, I was just saying. It’s a pleasure to be here. Yeah,

Dana 1:38
thank you so much. I feel like it must be pretty early. where you are. Right? Is it morning?

Karen 1:44
No, it’s the opposite. It’s 7pm in the evening. I’m in Mexico. I’m iron. Okay, I did Mexico, so we’re actually much closer than if I was in Ireland.

Dana 1:57
Okay, yeah, I was thinking, Oh, it’s probably kind of in Ireland. Yeah, I was kind of thinking. I don’t know. Cuz, because we do early mornings sometimes. And, like, I think I’ve come to it became a habit now for me that, you know, early morning conversations are okay, if I have my coffee or tea with me, but sometimes I still catch myself when I edit. I just, I just be like, Oh, man, I don’t handle sound very good in the morning. But, but Okay, so I’m happy that this is not too early for you. And this is a manageable time. Yeah. So really excited to have you here. Welcome. I would like to know, did you always know that you are going to be a coach?

Karen 2:42
No, I didn’t, I can’t say that. I always knew I was going to be a coach. But I always knew that I wanted to do my own thing. And I always had a vision since a young child of speaking in front of people, and kind of talking to groups that I was curious. But it’s funny because as a child, the only people I knew who stood or spoke in front of lots of other people was a teacher. So I actually always thought I was going to be a teacher. And I tried to teach English traveling. And I loved being in the classroom in front of the groups. But I actually, every morning before going in, I used to have this sense of like, dread, and this kind of didn’t feel so great. So I kind of was like, Okay, well, this clearly is a dish. So yeah, to answer your question, I didn’t know exactly who was going to be coached. But I always knew I was going to kind of work with groups of people and speak in groups of people, but it evolved through other jobs, the the actual coaching site.

Dana 3:52
Yeah. And I must say, I feel like it. It’s very brave of you, because I don’t hear that a lot from people that they’ve always known that they will be, like talking in public or talking to groups of people. Usually I hear people say, you know, they’re afraid of public speaking and all that stuff. And I’m definitely one of them. And I feel like more people are like me than like you. So I really wish I was more like you, haha!

Karen 4:20
let’s be honest, I know, I absolutely had a fear of public speaking as well. It’s funny, like, although I had this and now I can look back even, you know, back over my whole life, I can see I was actually always highly intuitive. But again, I didn’t have the language. I didn’t know what it was. So although and I used to stand in front of the mirror when I was a child with some books in my hand and pretend like I was talking and teaching. But that didn’t mean that when it came to stand in front of groups or whatever, I wasn’t petrified when I was working in events management. I used to have to talk in front of groups the whole time, because I was in fundraising. And I remember My boss, the CEO, and my line manager, like I had watched them so many times, and they were such incredible speakers. I was just like, Whoa, you know, I used to just look at them and all. And then when my boss was like, okay, Karen, like, you have to do it. I was like, Oh my god, no way, like, not a notion. There is no way I could get up in front of people and talk like, no, he was like, like, you can’t get away with this. And, you know, I struggled. But then when I did it for the first time, I actually something afterwards, I was like, something sparked within me again. And I’m so cool. I actually really enjoyed that. Yes, I was a bag of nerves. Yes, I still am every time. But I get such a drive off it. It really is something that just lights me up. And now I absolutely adore. Interesting.

Dana 5:49
So tell me, I’m really curious. What does it feel like that, like the very first time that you spoke, you know, in front of a group of people? What did that feel like? And what made you feel like, Oh, that was actually fun. Or, you know, what, what was it? Yeah,

Karen 6:07
I take the very first talk I gave because like I mentioned, I worked in events, management, eventually. That’s what I came to do my career. And I was in fundraising with the Heart and Stroke charity in Ireland. So I used to organize a lot of events. And a lot of them were kind of sporting or around activity events. And I remember I was doing the Camino in Spain. And the Camino is a really famous kind of walk in Spain. And I have to give like an information, evening and evening talk, just given information on it. And I suppose I was really interested to learn more about the Camino. So in my researching and putting all the talk together. But yeah, I mean, before it kicked off, I was terrified. I had done one, I was just like, Oh my God, my boss was going to be in the room. And like that, I was just like, he’s so incredible as a speaker, like, oh, all this pressure. But then just once I started it, that’s thing, just once I started, it just kind of flowed, I was really interested in sharing the information. And then afterwards, I just, I just felt this, like both, I just had this inner energy flowing through me that was just really excited. And I was like, actually, I really enjoyed that. And even then, my boss was like, Whoa, Karen, she was like, that was unreal. And I was like, Oh, thank you. So yeah, that’s kind of how it started. And then working in fundraising, I had to do it all the time. All kinds of different events all around the country, you know, late at night, and pubs and bars and nightclubs, you know, people who do fundraisers, all sorts. And I’m the kind of person as well, even with my podcast, even I used to do a book club, on national radio station in Ireland as well. And I’m a person who, and even if I do any videos around for now, if I plan, I kind of go on scripted, if I plan, it just doesn’t work. I sound really dead, boring and on interested. For me, it kind of needs to be live as well, just this other energy runs through me. And I just feel like sometimes even when I record podcasts, I might be afterwards and I’m like, Oh, I didn’t know if that went so great. And then when I go back to editing, I’m like, Whoa, I don’t even know, I don’t even remember saying all that. And that’s not from an egotistical point of view, I think that’s when we connect to our higher energy as well and allow that force to move through us. It’s really magic. So I’ve just kind of learned more and more to lean into it to explore. And there’s a huge piece of self compassion as well. Because I think that’s why most of us, you know, don’t follow dreams or don’t do what we want to do. Because I mean, it’s not going to be perfect. I still mess up. But I have this innate compassion for myself now as well. And that I mean, that’s a journey. That’s a healing journey that I believe we’re all on in life anyway. But that comes to a real sense of, you know, what, maybe didn’t go so well. But actually, instead of berating myself, I’m going to be like, Okay, well, I did the best I could. And next time, I could try x, y and Zed. You know, because I think when the self flagellation and you know, tearing strips of ourselves comes into play, well, then we have more fear doing this again, and that’s applicable to anything across life. You know, that, that self compassion and acceptance is huge. Yeah.

Dana 9:37
Thank you. And you mentioned that you used to be working in events, management and fundraising. So tell me, tell me about this career. How did you get started?

Karen 9:49
I’ve always been a bit of an outsider as in, I never really followed the status quo, like that. Now I can look back I highly choose of like I mentioned I knew when I was doing going to university in Ireland, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do. You know, my dad was kind of more traditional. And he’d be like, Oh, be a doctor or lawyer, you know, that’s a good job. And that would make you lots of money. But I was like, Yeah, but I don’t know if I want to do that. So in the end, I ended up studying Spanish. And, again, it’s really interesting how that came about. But anyway, that’s another story. But I basically remembered from a first child, so it’s holiday abroad about age 10, read Spain. And I remember just being so warm, I was always freezing at home. And I remember just sitting there by the pool, my swimming talks, and it was so warm. And I asked my mother, I was like, Mom, what language do they speak here? And she said, Spanish. And I was like, I’m going to learn Spanish. And I never ever, ever thought at that moment ever again, until I was picking my career. But of course, I wanted to study in university, popped into my head. And I was like, Oh, well, that’s something because I have absolutely no idea what I want to do. And I don’t want to go into a career and spend three, four years, you know, doing something that I don’t even know if I want to do or not like being a doctor or lawyer or whatever. So I was like, yeah, I’ll pick Spanish. And I picked a degree that had a year in Spain. And so basically, when I finished university as well, I was like, I still don’t know what I want to do. But I knew I loved Spanish, and haven’t been spent a year in Spain as part of my degree. I knew I wanted to explore more of the world as well. So essentially, I ended up getting a job teaching English in Mexico. And so I came to Mexico, I was teaching English for a while, I ended up leaving the job after a couple of months, and I ended up going traveling, I kind of fell into traveling, I say, and I just met so many cool people. And it just kept going and going and going and going. And eventually, I ended up in Melbourne, in Australia. And it was there that actually I had an epiphany. And I taught EU events management, that’s something I should do. I think I’d be really good at that. Because Melbourne was such a cool city. And there was so many incredible events going on. It was summertime, for free. There was the grand open tennis like that was such a boss. So I was like, I think that’s what I do. So when I got back to Ireland, I decided to study and train in events management, and that’s how it started. So but it’s funny, actually, I’ll share something else. Just as I shared my story, though, I remember and again, you know, we’re always guided, you know, if you kind of tap in again to your your inner self, your true court, there’s always signs and synchronicities. And it’s so funny when I went back to Ireland at that time to study event management oriented got into recession, there was a major crash. And basically people were losing jobs left, right and center. Even my friends were like, Why are you coming home now? Like, there was nothing. I was like, Well, look, this is my time to start. So I started studying, I did anything course part time. And I remember, my, the boss, the CEO of the charity, I ended up working for actually gave a couple of lectures during my course, about high end sportin marketing events. I never spoke to him threadpool course. I actually didn’t even think about the charity, when I finished. But it was a lady who mentioned to me I was helping a friend at the time in her shop. And a lady who was in one day was like, oh, because I will send in CVS, you know, to music venues to different companies who organize events and hear nothing because there was nothing happening. And she was the one who mentioned this lady one day I was telling her what I wanted to do. And she was like, oh, Karen, do you realize the only people doing events nowadays are charities. I was like, Oh, never even thought of charities. And then I was kind of like, what charities I don’t even know, like, Who do I know in that space? And then again, it was like, oh, him the CEO of this charity. So I sent him an email. I reached out and I was like, Look, this is what I want to do. I haven’t had the opportunity, I’d love to come and volunteer or, you know, gain some work experience. So whatever. So his secretary contacted me first people I’d heard back from and I met him, you know, the following week for an informal chat. And from there, I was hired on a two month project. It was coming up to Christmas and there was loads of events happening for Christmas. And he was like, I only have two months. It’s not in the budget. I can’t guarantee you anything else. And I said well look, it’s two months in the right direction. And maybe you might give me your reference afterwards. Its foot in the door because it’s like a catch 20 To people won’t hire you without experience, but I’m like, how am I meant to get experience if nobody hires me? But then after the two months, he was like, Oh, I have another six months. And then after that he was like, Karen, there’s a job here and definitely for you know, so that’s, that’s how it went. For me.

Dana 15:18
That’s amazing. What were the first few days like on this job? I imagine that you probably didn’t have a lot of experience in this prior to.

Karen 15:29
No, I didn’t. And like any new job. I mean, I was terrified. I was scared. I was like, oh, what are the other people going to be like? Am I going to be able to do this? You know, all these questions that we asked ourselves, and that inner critic thinking, we’ll be able and whatnot. But I went did and everyone was lovely. And they were really nice. And they were actually, you know, I’m still in contact with that boss. He is such an incredible human being. And they were so patient with me, and really just went through things and explain things. And even my line manager as well. He was so lovely. And just, it just worked. Because it was just meant to be for me at that time. It was the right thing, the absolute right place. The perfect job for me at that time.

Dana 16:20
So how long did you work in event management or fundraising?

Karen 16:26
I ended up staying in that job for five years, just over five years. And like that, I absolutely loved it. And now I can look back and see what an incredible experience it was. Because after that, I went into more weddings and corporate events for a year. And I absolutely hated that side of things. But it was it was, but it was when I went into that space, I really saw the value of you know, working with charity, and especially a smaller charity, where we didn’t have the capacity, you know, we didn’t have a set, brush, marketing team, or finance are all that kind of thing. So essentially, the projects I was managing, I had to wear every single hat. So I would if it was a new project, I would be doing the research, I’d be coming up with budgets, financing, and then the marketing plan PR, the execution, the logistics, the planning, the suppliers, like everything, the Closeout, you know, the debrief, if we need to volunteers, like everything, everything, everything, which was really overwhelming at times, because we did a lot of events, and they were like back to back back to back back to back. That, but then when I left that space, it was actually an even still, to this day, the amount of skills that I learned from having to wear all those hats, is just, I mean, it’s epic. And at first and I suppose towards the end of this, I was just getting more. I used to give my all like, I guess my all that I essentially just ended up burning myself out. And events. You know, that happens a lot of people in event management as well, because it’s full on usually the events are, you know, evenings, weekends, like, I remember one of our biggest events, which was a cycle. You know, we have over 1000 cyclists like it was huge, huge, huge, huge, huge, the logistics alone from the day were massive. But the constant like, I remember towards the end, I was like, I just feel like I want to second I felt like I had no time I was like can we not just appreciate one event kills dose before I was already starting, marketing or PR or research or whatever for the next event. The next event, the next event that I’m like, I felt like there was just no stop. And I felt like time this is what was coming up from time, time time. I felt like I had no time. And I remember I was talking to my boss. I was like, I just feel like I have no time. Like if I want to if I have to go to the bank, or I need to go to the post office. Like it’s such a mission because obviously I’m working nine to five Monday to Friday, they’re closed on the weekends, you know, and he’s like, I’m nobody’s watching you. Like you make your own time. If you need to pop out. That’s fine, which I knew. But it was just the bigger issue of I was hitting burnout. I hadn’t i given my all and you know then as well I just post that. I wanted to try something that well, actually no at the time. But I was thinking about looking for a new job but my boyfriend at the time was offered a job abroad in Switzerland. So that was kind of my house. I was like, okay, we go to Switzerland. So that’s that’s kind of why I left that job. In the end. I think I probably would have anyway just because of the way I was feeling I was ready for a change and I was ready for kind of different change of pace, and I was also ready for a different challenge as well.

Dana 20:02
I see. So I’m not sure if I understand you correctly. So. So you’re doing kind of the same thing. I mean, it’s kind of centers around events planning, but before it was at a charity, and then you moved on to a different, I guess wedding planning or more for like corporate planning space. And this is much more intense. Yes. And was much more time consuming.

Karen 20:28
Yeah, for me, it was the opposite. Actually, it actually wasn’t intense, because it was a bigger organization. And actually, there was a whole team, that there was no marketing team, there was, well say in for the weddings, it was in a hotel, it was a beautiful hotel in Ireland. And, you know, there was food and beverage, there was the bar, there was high stuff, like everyone, and I would make the event notes. But everyone around the hotel had access to them. So everyone knew what to do on the day of the wedding, per se, yes, we’d have meetings, but that was just so new to me, because I don’t ever worked with volunteers before. And because we didn’t have the capacity, and they would not know what to do until you instructed them and briefed them and, you know, gave them instructions of how things wrong. So, for me, in the beginning, it was really like, an I’d be going to like the bar staff go, do you see? Do you know what they’re having for like, you know, the reception drinks and hot wine for dinner and all that? And they’re like, Yes, here on the notes. And I’m like, wow, this is incredible. So at first, it was a real novelty, and I loved it. But then I after a year, I was just like, there was absolutely no challenge in us, for me, whatsoever. Like, in and of like, all the events, all the weddings were in of, they’re always similar, you know, there was not many new components. And also within that role, I was like, there is nowhere else to go, there is nowhere else to progress to. And it’s not that I wanted to work in the hotel industry, like I wasn’t interested in transitioning into something else in the hotel was only because of the hotel. And that was weddings, you know, doing weddings, and that and I was like, Oh, that’s a bit interesting. And also, you know, from leaving the charity sector, where it’s a different kettle of fish, like there’s no, you know, there’s no benefits with working in the charity sector or in Ireland Anyway, you got your wage, and that was it. Whereas I thought it would be great to have extra benefits and all these things. But that actually didn’t really work out just in the end. I was like, No, this is this is not me, because it was much more. You know, say? Like, fundraising was tough, there was no question about it. But on the days where it was really tough, where you’re like, I don’t know if I can do this anymore. You know, I would speak to a family member who were using the services, whose mother, father, parent brother had life saving surgery, who availed of her free accommodation when their loved ones were in hospital, you know, because it was a five hour drive to where they live, or whatever it was, that it was that reminder again, I’m like, it’s not about me, it’s the bigger picture. So that was that was incredible. And I realized I’m more aligned to that. Whereas working in the hotel space, I’m like, I feel like I’m just slogging away. And the hours like were so much more intense and crazy. And I was like, what, for what? To make someone even more rich. It just didn’t align with me morally, ethically, everything I’m like, okay, I’ve tried this. This is definitely not for me. So I quit.

Dana 23:47
So what happened after you quit?

Karen 23:51
Yeah, so again, it’s it’s funny because I knew I wasn’t happy. I knew I didn’t want to be there anymore. And I knew I also knew that I didn’t necessarily want another job. But I also had the fear of going on my own, what would I do myself? How would I start? So I was still looking for other jobs. And I remember, like, begging with the universe, I’m like, please, just give me the opportunity of just a job showing up. I don’t want this, but just to feel safe and secure. And nothing was coming back. I mean, I was sending out CDs and everything and nothing was coming back. So this is really again, the synchronicities are just incredible. I remember at the time I was working 10 days on four days off, and that was my rotation. And I remember it was coming up to four days off, but a couple of weeks beforehand, but I had this sense of I wanted to go somewhere for a long weekend. So I had I had put the dates out friends I had to be these days, I just felt a sense of these are the dates. And I put into Ryanair, which is an airline in Ireland, anywhere in Europe. And Bulgaria was coming up really cheap. So I was like, Great. I’ll go for Gary of the four days. So I’m sending it to friends. And, you know, everyone, I was like anyone up for a trip, you know, just a long weekend trip. And so many were like, I can’t go those days. But I could go the week before the week after if you went to the state. And there was just something in me, I was like, No, there needs to be these days. And then I haven’t traveled in years at this stage. I mean, holidays, yes, but not backpacking again. And especially I hadn’t done it solo in such a long time. So I remember I was thinking, like, Oh, I can’t, I can’t go on my own. Like, it terrified me. And then I kind of caught myself and I was like, okay, the fact that I’m terrified means I need to go. So I booked the flights. And even coming up to us, I was like, I don’t know, if I’m gonna go, I like I was feeling really scared. And I booked a hostel. And I hadn’t stayed in the hostel in years, either. So it was a bit like, I don’t know if I’m going to go and I was like, Karen, seriously, what’s wrong with you? It’s a long weekend, you know, just go. So I went. And then when I went again, I had like an epiphany. Time in Melbourne. I was just like, Oh, yeah, I can just go traveling again. Because I’ve gone through a really traumatic breakup the year before. And it was just like, you know what, I just got to have some fun again, life is not both serious. And before, when I fit when I was in the hotel, before I finished there, I really, I just really remembered my backpack and days again, and I was like, Here I am, and I have all this money, and you know, doing this job, and I meant to be really happy. But actually, I just feel really empty. And God, what the hell is this all about? Whereas I’d remember back to my backpacking days when I had no money, I stayed in hostels, and I was so frickin happy. So I had an epiphany there. And I was like, Okay, I’ll just go to take some time off and go traveling again. So that’s essentially what I quit for. In the end, I questioned six weeks later, I left on a trip for South America.

Angela 27:16
Whoa. It’s such an amazing journey, then you did you pick that destination for any reason, specifically?

Karen 27:27
I’ll tell you all my stories are just alignments of the universe because it’s hilarious. Because since I was in Mexico, teaching English back in 2006, I traveled a bit of Central America and South America was my dream. It was absolutely my dream. But I didn’t get there at that time. And I remember at the time, I was like, Okay, I’ll go home, I’ll work and I’ll come back thinking I’d come back like, a year later, or something. But then I kept traveling and meeting other people in other parts of the world. So it took me 11 years to get back. But it was absolutely perfect timing. But when I had that epiphany when I was in Bulgaria, on this four week trip that oh, my God, I’m just going to go traveling again. You would think that South America would pop into my head, but it didn’t. I was like, Where am I going to go? And do you remember the Justin Bieber song? This? He or he, I think he did a remix, whatever. Normally, the Latin songs aren’t big in Ireland, like they don’t really make it to Ireland. But that song was huge. And I remember one day, I was like, why am I going to go? And that song was on the radio. And I literally just laughed at myself. I was like, of course, I was like, it cannot be any other place than South America. That’s been my dream for so long. So again, like I said, I’m so kind of tuned in No, I’m like a thank you universe. For the knowledge, the reminder that yes, this is where I’m meant to go. So that’s how South America can cross.

Angela 28:59
And tell us about that trip.

Karen 29:01
And it was, it was absolutely the perfect time, for me. It was so incredible. I met such incredible people. Again, I’ll say like the best education I’ve ever got has been from traveling. And I can only fully really appreciate it now. A little bit older I get I am when I look back, I’m like, that is an education that you will not get in any university, any book anywhere around the world. Because you’re in so many different scenarios, situations with different people, you’re learning about different cultures. And your mind is just expanded and expanded and expanded. If you allow it, you know, yes, you have the opportunity as well to just shut off to it. But it’s really where I connected back to you again. And I’ve mentioned my intuition a couple of times because it’s really traveling as well. That really helped me connect into it even more and trusted Even more. Because there’s certain scenarios where, you know, you just get a sense of, I don’t know what’s going on here, but I don’t like the energy I’m gonna leave, you know, or on different bluster. Like just so many things I’m like, been tuned into that I honestly, you know, it has probably saved me from so many crazy scenarios or accidents that, you know, it’s just helped me to trust in us completely. And I knew coming home from that trip in 2018. I was like, Okay, now it’s time there is absolutely no way in the world, I don’t care how much money you are, for me, I cannot go back into kind of nine to five. Because for me as well, it’s been because I’ve done so much traveling. And I know how alive and incredible it makes me feel. And I can only talk about myself that I knew for a long time that I wants to be able to work online. So I could work from anywhere in the world. And I knew, especially from having been in the hotel where there wasn’t as much flexibility on the building my own hours. Because you know, because just the weapons and the way it felt that I knew, like I have one life. And because I mentioned before my old job Time, time, time was coming up to me, I’m like, I want to be in charge of my time. I have no problem working. I’m an incredible working, and I love work. But I want to work. I want to build my schedule, I want to work when I want to work. And if that means nine o’clock some evening, I’m working fine. And if I want to take a midweek day off fine. I didn’t want to have to jump to the beach of someone else’s drum anymore. I didn’t want to have to ask when I wanted my days off, and then it was denied. And I didn’t want to have to have my rate of pay dictated by someone else. And what they caught sighs I knew coming home in 2018 Gold right now is the time to do my own thing. And although I was terrified and had so much fear, I just knew within my heart, I couldn’t go back into that environment because I knew long term it would never give me what I wanted. I could change my job, I could have promotions, I could earn more money. But essentially, it was never going to give me the lifestyle that I wanted for me.

Dana 32:14
And what happened next, how did you end up where you are today.

Karen 32:17
I remember I got home March, beginning of March 2018. And the previous year before I even quit my job. I was on my laptop one evening. And I don’t know how or what I was looking for was an anthem in the space. But I saw an advertisement popped up on my screen about Tony Robbins coming to London in April 2018. And at this stage, I like that I had no intention that I was going to quit my job in a couple of weeks, I had no idea that I was going to be planning a trip to South America. But when that popped up on my screen, now I know he goes to London every year. But I didn’t know that at the time. And I didn’t know much about him. But I knew he was big in the space. So something in me was like, I should book this because like that I was feeling in a funk. And I was like this is an investment in me. So I booked that ticket. And I remember even on my trip, I actually I ended up extending my, my trip to South America. And I remember I contacted them at one stage to see Could I get a refund on the ticket price, because they’re not cheap. And I was like I really need that money. But they had said I could didn’t do refunds, but I could sell it or change the name or transfer to your later but I could decide up to 48 hours beforehand. So I was like, okay, that’s about the time. Anyway, I didn’t end up some nurses that I went home. And it was absolutely the best thing to have, again, the universe is always support. No. So I was like, Oh, I’m so grateful that I have this for when I came home The following month, because that really, that really started me on my journey. And I mean, my journey is in my inner work as well.

Angela 34:07
Could you recall any of the like, were there major moments at the Tony Robbins event that like really gave me the epiphany.

Karen 34:19
Well like I said, it wasn’t necessarily that I got the Epiphany at the event that I wanted to do coaching it was from signing up and working with the coach afterwards. And studying like deciding that I wanted to train as a coach. But I mean, that event was just it really was just what I felt like after the event was because I suppose for a lot of my life, I felt like I had a lot of inner conflict. Like I said, I was always highly intuitive and I was always pulled in different directions to the status quo. But yet at the same time, you know, I didn’t know what intuition was. So I didn’t know I was actually following my gotten the right path for me. All I thought at the time was What’s wrong with me? Why don’t I feel like I fit in, I don’t want what everyone else wants. So there was this constant battle within myself, although I knew when those times or those calls came for me, I knew to listen and to follow, even though I couldn’t explain why I was been, you know, brought off to Mexico or wherever I was going, I just knew it was right for me. So, go into that event that helped me see that so much more. And it helped me more connect to who I was, and kind of meeting those two parts. And really, that was the start of that journey of just coming back to my own truth, and being exactly who I am, and not feeling like I Vancouver anymore, and not feeling like I need to do X, Y, and Zed because that’s what society expects it. That’s what my culture expects, that that’s what my family expects. It’s, it started that journey of just leaning more and more and more and more and more into trusting my own intuition and my own path and my own definition of success. Yeah. So but I mean, since then, it’s been a tough journey. And that’s the thing when you start the inner work, you know, it’s, it’s a constant evolution, because you get more present. And you see that everything is constantly changing. And I can honestly say, up until a couple of years ago, I was actually never present. And most people aren’t, we’re all sleepwalking through life, we think we’re present because it’s such a and I have to go to this appointment. And I have to do this, and I have to do that. But the reality is, we’re not because we’re in our mind. And we’re thinking in another time, we’re replaying the past, or we’re worrying about the future and thinking about the future. So we’re actually not present at all, or we just have moments of being present. And the rest of the time, we’re just on autopilot, and sleepwalking. Whereas now, I’ve flipped the whole time. And I’m actually more present than in another time reality in my head. And I still go out there. And I still get caught in different patterns or negative rabbit holes, or worrying about the future or replaying the past. Finance to go there. But I catch myself when I come back to the present go. Yes, but it’s only this real right now. And most of the time, it’s not Yes, that doesn’t mean, you know, I can’t think and plan about my future, I absolutely can. But then I have to live in the present. Because even with all the best planning in the world, we have absolutely no idea how anthem is going to happen. Because it’ll only ever happened in the present. So why waste all our time worrying about something like that plan, have an idea, but then let it go and show up in the present and follow what is showing up for you.

Angela 37:53
I love that. And how did you find your first clients?

Karen 37:56
Good question. I think just from between on my Facebook page, I had my podcast already, I was already doing my podcast. And you know, my website, I had an I always kind of written different blogs and things like that. So I think it was just from kind of announcing, doing actually, before I even started on the coaching side of things. I also trained as an energy therapist, because energy work has always been something that’s been huge in my life. So when I first started out my business, I focus more on one to one energy sessions. So I do Reiki and integrated energy therapy. And through that, as well, I used to do a lot of meditation groups. And I used to do cacao ceremonies. So I kind of had a network of people anyway. So then when I moved more into the coaching, and especially now when I’ve moved to a different country, I’m in Mexico and I want to be more online, you know, it’s connecting up with other groups, and using Facebook ads sharing on other podcasts, you know, it’s just, it’s just constantly putting the content out there on my own podcast, and coming up with different offerings, that you know, the right people will will align and find you.

Angela 39:14
I want to kind of talk about that transition when you you know, eventually feel like okay, no longer I don’t no longer want to do event management, and I want to really full time become a coach. What was that process? Like? Did you ever have to discuss with any friends or family about you know, giving up something that you know, biweekly definitely for sure comes in and gives you a paycheck, and then going away from that to something that is going to be a little bit more irregular and uncertain.

Karen 39:46
The process was actually over a couple of years because like I said, I quit my old job and fundraising in 2016 to move abroad with my ex. We broke up and I was home again. for that year, kind of 2016, then I got that job for the year in weddings and corporate events, and then 2017, I quit that. And then I went traveling 2017 to 2018. And then 2018, I really started my transitioning and retraining and all that. So it was over a couple of years. But at the end of the day, no, I didn’t really, I didn’t discuss it with anyone per se asking for their advice. Because again, I knew my intuition I knew to trust myself, I knew it was right for me. So um, my mother is so incredible, that since I was a child, she has always allowed me to trust me, she has never once said, Oh, my gosh, like, what are you going to do? What about money? And what about this? Because I mean, I have those questions myself, I have those fears myself. But again, it’s that deeper knowing of, well, I don’t know how this is going to work out, because we never know how I’m going work out. But I know this feeling within me that this is something I need to explore. So I just need to trust it and follow it and lean into it.

Dana 41:10
And so throughout this, change this journey of over a couple of years to your now, what are some more memorable moments that you went through? Like whether they’re sad, or you know, difficult? Or happy moments? What were some that come to your mind?

Karen 41:27
Wow, well, I thought there was everything from you know, life is a bit of a roller coaster, sometimes in between the travels and how epic that was. But also, I actually in that time had the most traumatic experience of my life, which, like us in 2016, I went through a traumatic breakup. But as I mentioned, myself, my ex, we’ve moved abroad, but I was actually home in Ireland, at the time on a visit just visiting family and friends. And he wasn’t from Ireland. But literally, I got an email. And he just said, I can’t do this anymore. And he said he’d gone back home to his home country, and he would have my stuff shipped back. So that was I mean, my world just changed instantly the second best gift ever. My world, I mean, not at the time, it was obviously hugely traumatic. I just could not breathe through all the tears. And those first few days, all that kept going through my head was like, I’ll never be able to rebuild my life. I’ll never be able to rebuild my life. And this is what I kept telling myself it was like, because like that I had quit my job in Ireland. I sold my car, I cancelled all my bills, because we were moving for a couple of years. I donated loads of clothes, I packed up and sold things. And then I felt like I was back home in my parents house because I was just going to visit. But yes, I hadn’t been working abroad. Yes, I’ve used all my savings. So I actually didn’t, I couldn’t afford to rent or go anywhere else. So I felt like someone had picked me up and dropped me back like 18 years because I had lived in my parents house since then. But I couldn’t be anywhere else. So it was hugely, hugely traumatic. And the relationship part was one aspect, but then actually losing all my stuff as well. And because he said he’d have it shipped, shipped back, but nothing actually ever arrived. So I lost all my possessions. clothes, shoes, bags sentimental. I’ve no idea. I’ve never heard of God to this day. God. I have no idea. Sorry. That’s horrible. Yeah, it’s okay. Don’t be too sorry. But I’ll tell you what happened and why I’m so grateful force, you know? Because So, I mean, I felt like I went through to two traumas, because you know, the relationship part was first. And then a couple of months later, when I realized none of my stuff was coming back and it was all gone. That was like re experiencing the whole trauma again. But during the first couple of days of that, I mean, you know, I felt like my heart My body was obliterated into a billion pieces, like literally the pain in my body. And again, the instant questions and the head noise of did i do what’s wrong? I shouldn’t have done this. I shouldn’t have done that. Why did I say this? If I hadn’t said this, I should if I hadn’t have done that, Neil. We take it on ourselves or on blank. And then a couple of days later, I was there in bed. You know, just miserable not talking to anyone not really, not really getting up. One day I was in another bit of crying, hysterics and just all of a sudden, this immense and I mean immense, total serene peace came over me. I remember I was like, strange, like, I just stopped crying instantly and felt so serene. I’ve got goosebumps now. And I say this again. But then I heard the voice. And it said, okay, Karen, you have two choices here. You stay exactly as you are horrible crying, going through 1,000,001 questions in your head, not really, not really talking, missing out in your life. And rightly so I had every right to do that. Or you accept this as your reality, and you live your life again. And in that instant, it was just again, another epiphany. I was like, yeah, I’m like, shit, I can think about this as much as I want. I can be as miserable as much as I want. I can take all the million and one questions as much as I want. But the reality is, this has happened, I count on happiness. But what I do here is totally my choice. And from that moment forward, it didn’t mean that it was easy, but it was a million times easier. Because behind so many insights, again, it’s that thing of we have no idea what tomorrow will bring. So it brought me present, I was so grateful. I could move through my pain, and my fear my anxiety when it rolls. But I’ve decided that I’m like, this is my life. Why do I want to destroy myself and be so miserable 24, seven, and distraught and like not being in contact with anyone, you know? So, and again, that wasn’t denying my pain, but realizing, and actually, after a while, I realized, Hmm, this is really interesting. This only hurts when I remember to think about it. Because when I’m actually 100%, present and living my life and being present with friends, or family members, or whatever I’m doing, again, like I said, our focus is our power, our attention is our power. My intention is on my present life. There is no problem, there is no pain, there is no sadness. It was only when I went up into my mind replaying an old story, that then I would feel the pain and the fear and the knees and the victim. And that’s again, I’m not saying that to deny, I’m just really trying to paint the picture for people of how like, pain is inevitable in life, pain is absolutely inevitable in life will get hurt, you will be you know, challenges difficulties. That’s everyone, everyone, everyone, everyone, it doesn’t matter how much money you have, how many houses you have, or how little you have, everyone will experience pain. You know, there is pain in life through loss through grief. But that’s not to say, you should be scared of us. You know, it’s it’s that it’s a part of life, but suffering, suffering is optional. And suffering comes down to us, and how we choose to think about it, the meaning we choose to create, and the thoughts we think because and the stories we built, because again, the pain happens. But then we add arms and legs and stories and we keep ourselves and keep rehearsing ourselves in Nash, so I can fully appreciate. That’s the cycle we need to break.

Dana 48:08
So tell us about coaching, like what you do and who your clients are, and usually what kind of problems you help them solve.

Karen 48:15
Yeah, so like I mentioned, I work now as an inside out coach, and it’s really about helping women to cultivate self approval from within. And that self approval has nothing to do with ego or righteousness. Again, it’s that coming back to our own truth and our own essence and our own knowing of we are enough. And it’s funny because it presents in so many different ways. Because like I mentioned a couple of times, you know, your career limiting beliefs and subconscious pattern all of us we don’t have to go through traumas that’s just a part of life, that often these will hold us back in certain ways if they’re not looked at. So from my experience, and from my clients as well. It can show up in any number of ways. And usually it shows up as an external problem. Whether it’s, I can’t seem to keep a relationship. I never get the promotion at work. I feeling really exhausted, I can’t prioritize my time, I’m procrastinating and I don’t know what to do all these kind of issues. But again, as we say, the presenting problem is never the problem. Because there’s always a deeper root, whatever the symptom is on the outside, there is always a deeper root. And usually that route comes from some sort of deeper feeling of not deserving or not good enough or unworthy.

Dana 49:44
So Karen, thank you so much for sharing your wisdom with us today. I really enjoyed talking to you about all your career transitions and really interesting to learn how you reached like the, you know, the defining moments and Your journey where you realize that, oh, I don’t have to be bound by what I thought I had to do, I can actually do this, do that, you know. And I think it’s really interesting to almost like, be there with you, as you talked about what you learned. I really appreciate this opportunity. And thank you so much for joining us today.

Karen 50:20
You’re most welcome. And just to say, well, like, I suppose where I’ve come to my journey, is I’m not unique. I’m not magic. I’m not gifted with you know, the the lucky spoon or the golden coins. We all have the capacity to be our true selves to do what lights us up, no matter what he has, everyone has different circumstances and realities. But again, it’s the deepest stories and we often our own excuses hold us back from actually being our true selves and allowing our greatness to shine. When we connect to our true selves, not alignment, there is just that constant source of joy and fulfillment no matter what is happening.

Dana 51:04
Thank you.

Karen 51:05
Amazing. Thank you so much as well, and thank you for doing what you’re doing.

--

--