Things I Learned In My First 90 Days As a Team Lead

Angela Chou
Work In Progress Blogs
3 min readJul 1, 2019
Photo by Campaign Creators on Unsplash

I always feel like leadership skills are tricky to develop as an IC unless you’re intentional about it. Earlier this year I had the chance to take on a role that gives me the opportunity to be a leader in a medium sized company that still has a lot of the quirkiness of a start-up. Here I share what I learned in my first 90 days as a team lead.

It takes time to get used to being a “manager”

When you’re an IC you are part of the team. You can easily talk about pain points or issues with your peers on the team. When there are things that need to be done up for grabs, you jump on it. If you are someone like me who gets an adrenaline rush when volunteering to own a project, settling into the team lead role means you need to learn to delegate and at times, motivate your team to own things.

It doesn’t matter who did the work as long as it’s done…

but as a team lead with the responsibility to assess individual performance I find that I notice the little things that people do to help the team as a whole. I find myself trying to remember the story behind the numbers and I want my team to be the best at what they do and I want them to be happy.

Start with a blank slate

The best way to get to know everyone on your team is to come in with an open mind. Getting some background information about team dynamics and functional roles is good but be careful to not get too much second hand information too soon. Too much too soon can lead to preconceived impression that could give you a colored lens before you even look at the subject you’re trying to understand. Remember that others may have formed their opinions looking in from the outside and it’s on you as a leader to truly understand individuals and the team from within.

You can’t please everyone

As with all things in life, you can’t please everyone in the world. Shifts, personalities, difference in work or communication styles can create tension within the team and when everyone comes to you for their problems it can be stressful for you. Just remember that you can’t please everyone and it can take time to understand what makes everyone tick.

You want to be the best employee ever

I believe in lead by example. Since one of the best ways to motivate me is to put me on the same team as other high performers, I find that I am even more motivated to do well so that I can be a role model and motivate my team to do better.

You want to stand up for your team

When the situation calls for it, you learn to stand up for your team to clarify potential misunderstandings other teams may have about your team. Occasionally, you need to learn to shield your team when your team is at fault. As a team lead you are compelled to stand behind your team’s work because you are your team’s ultimate advocate.

Disclaimer — None of the above t is groundbreaking by any means. Also, because the company has a very relaxed attitude towards titles so someone who is a team lead at a standard corporate Fortune 500 company may not think my learnings are relatable and that is totally cool.

--

--