#wcw | Women’s History Month

Recommended Reads For Women’s History Month

Dana C
Work In Progress Blogs
3 min readMar 7, 2019

--

I love being a woman and in this special month of March we are celebrating all things women. Below are some books I think will suit this month perfectly:

Source

I Am Malala

This book has long been on my list and I plan to read it this month. It is a remarkable story about the fight for girls’ education, “of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.”

Source

My Own Words

If you haven’t seen the film RBG about Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, I highly recommend it. Here is the trailer if you are curious. The book “My Own Words” is a collection of Ginsburg’s speeches and essays on various topics ranging from gender equality to the opera. I admire her work ethic and contribution to the advancement of women’s rights.

Source

Hidden Figures

Being in the scientific field I see many women at the entry level, few in the middle management, and hardly any among the execs. I never noticed this reality until I met a female director for the first time and it occurred to me that there are so few out there; it would be a few more years until I met the second. I know how rare it is for women to advance far in the scientific field and I can’t imagine what things were like in the 50s and 60s.

Dolly Parton

I don’t know much about Dolly’s music or story but I do love this short clip of her during an interview with Barbara Walters. She addressed difficult questions and with utter confidence and stated that her talent is irrelevant to people’s opinion of her appearance — whether they be good or bad. That’s a lesson most women can learn from, myself included.

Photo by Alexis Brown on Unsplash

Work In Progress is a blog hosted by two twin sisters passionate about transitions in work and life. Our series “#womencrushwednesday” features profiles of women who inspire us to do better and be more than just ourselves.

--

--