Weekly Retro | #7

Dana C
Work In Progress Blogs
2 min readMar 8, 2019

Happy Weekend! Here are the things we’ve thoroughly enjoyed this week. How can philosophy benefit scientific research? What goes through a four-year-old’s head during a hockey lesson? Scroll to find out!

Are philosophy and science related? Source

Science and philosophy are two subjects that have always intrigued me — it makes perfect sense since I work in Biotech but while I had plans to take philosophy classes in college, that plan never materialized. This week I encountered two articles addressing science and philosophy and I am fascinated by these for different reasons. The first article, Opinion: Why Science Needs Philosphy, is an interesting piece that explains why philosophy can have a productive impact on scientific advancement. Since this is a piece published by a peer-reviewed scientific journal, it has a clear introduction that allows you to quickly understand what it’s about and I love that about scientific papers. The second one is titled Why Do We Invent Historical Roots For Modern Science? and argues we should not trace or assign historical roots to modern science.

I just found out about the I weigh community started by actress Jameela Jamil that aims to shift the emphasis from how heavy we weigh on the scale to the valuable things we “weigh” in life. I like this idea and the instagram post I linked above might be one of my favorites.

And here is an adorable clip of a 4 year old at his hockey lesson. His dad filmed it and put a mic on him so we get to enjoy the funny monologue.

Work In Progress is a platform hosted by two twin sisters passionate about transitions in work and life. Our “Weekly Retro” series features interesting tidbits we come across each week and would like to share with everyone.

--

--