Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, 1986

“Life moves pretty fast…”

Bueller?

Andrew Eccles
Work. Life.
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2013

--

I have a thing about movie quotes and applying them to situations I find myself in. What can I say; I like movies and I make no apologies! Anyway here’s one you all know and love…

“Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

I consider myself a busy person. As a busy person, I automatically know lots of busy people. We naturally gravitate to each other to share stories of just how busy we are. Collectively we’re busy people doing busy business-related things and ultimately, above anything else —keeping busy.

STOP!

1. Take a snapshot of your average day, say the last 24 hours, note down what have you achieved, both on a personal & professional level.You should have 2 lists!

LOOK!

2. Look objectively at what you’ve written & cross off the bits you’ve cheated about! No one else is looking, so be honest with yourself.

3. If one is dramatically longer than the other you’re doing something wrong. Spending all your time in the office is as bad as spending all your time with your family, unless you’re Gordon Gekko or a Walton.

LISTEN!

4. Stop obsessing over what you’ve not ‘done’ yet & take the time to appreciate what you have achieved. Tomorrow is another day.

--

--

Andrew Eccles
Work. Life.

From greengrocer to Mac-Man to Operations Director. I'm an optimist. If all else fails, in ☕️ we trust.