The Acid Test

Andrew Eccles
Work. Life.
Published in
1 min readApr 24, 2015

--

I can count on 1 hand the number of people I truly trust, ok perhaps 2 hands and 1 foot but you get my point.

Trust: the firm belief in the reliability, truth, or ability of someone or something.

My acid test, generally speaking, is this: can I have beer with you?

You may think that is very childish way of gauging whether you can truly trust someone, but I would disagree. Of course the proof is in the pudding but the acid test hasn’t failed me yet.

I’m naturally a very private person yet when sharing a beer, you (thanks to the powers of alcohol) let your guard down, that invisible cloak that you use to protect you from the big bad world, the thick skin you’ve developed that acts as your battle armour for life, their powers fade slightly.

Heck, you relax a little.

If I can share a beer with you, swap war stories and genuinely look forward to the next opportunity to do it again, you’re good in my book.

On the other hand, if we haven’t done it since our first beer…

--

--

Andrew Eccles
Work. Life.

From greengrocer to Mac-Man to Operations Director. I'm an optimist. If all else fails, in ☕️ we trust.