#Workastories: Tomiwa Jeminiwa

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice
Published in
5 min readOct 18, 2019

What do you do?

I am currently an Assistant Vice President in the Windows Server Operations team at Bank of America Merrill Lynch.

Big Man! What does that mean?

Being an AVP doesn’t mean you do anything specific to AVPs — there are thousands of AVPs lol. All AVPs are mid level managers in their team.

Personally, I wear two hats, one as a technical support helping to resolve issues such as server outages and providing technical advise to the business when needed, and I also support my manager with team management, getting on some management calls in his stead.

My team in EMEA is part of a Global team (US & Asia regions) and we are responsible for maintaining Operational Stability and Monitoring Performance on a day to day. We are pretty much server doctors, we maintain 24/7 support of windows servers, we manage and resolve incidents using a triage system. And then we also get involved in special projects 🤷🏿‍♂️

How did you get your first job?

Hmmm, long story oh but a quick summary. It all started on a night in April 2013, a friend of mine in UNILORIN was coming back from an AIESEC conference in Ethiopia so he said we should catch up as he was in Lagos for the night. During the catch up he gave me a link to apply for an info session by Bank of America Merrill Lynch. This was the beginning.

I got an offer for a summer internship with BAML about 6 months later and I got a full time offer after the internship.

A couple of processing and hardworking happened between that night and the internship but yeah, I literally got the link from my friend and we both work for the bank today.

Why do you think BAML retained you the first time?

The first time being after my internship?

I displayed all the top qualities that employers look for in their colleagues and employees. I was very passionate about my roles, I showed a lot of energy while completing tasks and my networking was second to none. While I was an intern, I made it a duty to meet ALL the top guns in the region, from the President of EMEA to all the Senior leaders.

I really went above and beyond without breaking a sweat.

How did you choose your career path?

I can’t exactly say I have chosen a career path, I chose a course to study in uni, Computer Engineering, majorly because I have always loved computers but I didn’t really see the end of the line when I filled my JAMB form. Everything after that came by recommendation, curiosity or ‘adventure’.

I work in Technology and before I got this role, I was building myself to be an all rounder in technology. Able to handle 80% of the roles within Technology, able to hold a conversation in any Technology event. Today I work in the Financial industry, tomorrow I might be fully in the technology Industry. I wanted the world to be my oyster.

In the near future, I plan to merge some of my interests into one and maybe then I’d have chosen a career path.

Tell us an interesting failure story about your career

I hope this inspires someone.

I graduated secondary school in 2007 and I got admission to study Mechanical Engineering in 2008, I failed a major prerequisite course in my first year and I couldn’t continue the course so I dropped out and wrote JAMB again, got admission to another uni for Computer Engineering in 2010.

It’s interesting because the gap year made me reevaluate a lot of things and it was in that one year that I learnt a lot of the things I know and use today.

Tell us an interesting success story about your career

2018 was filled with a lot of success stories, I think a career defining win for me was how I successfully got over my manager lol. He’d been my manager since my first day and sort of doubled as my mentor and office daddy.

At the beginning of last year, he put me in charge of the two major projects in the team and in May he resigned. He left in August, I actually led him out of the building on his last day. On my way back I started thinking of our time together and how I suddenly felt ‘naked’, I shed a few tears that day. I had to ‘man up’, evolve into a bigger role by taking up some responsibilities in the local site and report to a senior manager through an interim manager.

I was able to complete all my projects successfully and got multiple awards for excellent delivery, these also led to my (double) promotion.

What did you graduate with?

I graduated with a BSc. Computer Engineering (2nd Class Upper)

Do you think graduating with a first class in overrated?

NO! It is not overrated. I sometimes wish I graduated with a first class. I’m sure I’ve tweeted about how I wish I could go back to uni only so I can graduate with a first class.

There’s always this feeling of satisfaction when you know you gave it your all and got the best out of an experience. Well, that’s just me :)

What was the most important factor in how you got your first job?

The fire fighter’s motto: Be Prepared.

My preparation for the job didn’t start the day I saw the application, it started years before I even knew a role like that existed.

My aim was to develop myself, I wasn’t developing myself for just one role, I was just investing in myself to be a complete person, relevant to my generation really.

What is an interesting thing you have learned as someone who now hires younger people?

Empathy.

I sometimes replay my interview before interviewing people, I try to put myself in their position so I can set expectations for myself.

What is your favourite part of your job?

Working with teammates in other regions, it can be interesting at times with the accents and time differences but its all fun and games at the end of the day.

What is the most surprising thing that you have discovered in your career journey?

That it’s not rocket science after all.

What would you do differently if you could start all over?

I’d have more fun, I think I was unconsciously too strict on myself.

Some extra advice

Life is a journey, enjoy the ride. Follow your heart but use your head ;)

Adetomiwa Jeminiwa|@adetomiwa_xy

Remember to Clap, Share and Follow Workaroo & Workaroo Advice on Medium for more!

Connect with us on Twitter:

--

--

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice

Opportunities. Advice. CareerPrep for Students and Recent Grads! 👩🏽‍🎓👩🏽‍💻👨🏽‍🎓👨🏽‍💻