#WorkarooAdvice: Kickstarting your career while in school

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice
Published in
5 min readSep 29, 2019

For as long as I can remember, I have always felt the need to do more. Initially, I termed it as restlessness but over the years, it has become one of my strengths.

In my first year of university, I felt strongly that I was on the wrong path. For weeks, I felt so certain that I didn’t want to study law but I ended up brushing it off as fear because I wasn’t even doing any law courses at the time. Everyone kept insisting that I gave it a chance and just see where it went.

I decided to give it a chance but the feeling never left, so I decided that I’d try my hands at new things. I had been writing fiction at the time, so when I saw that an online magazine needed a creative assistant, I applied. I had no concrete prior work experience, mostly volunteer work but I put all I could together, practiced for the interview over and over and got the job. I worked here for over four months, took a break to focus on exams and realised I wanted more for myself.

In my second year, I decided to really give this law thing a go and intern at a law firm. After one month at the firm, I was so convinced that I never wanted to see or smell or think law again. Since I now knew I didn’t want to end up in this field, it was clear that I needed to give myself options.

Over the past five years, I have grown as a freelance writer and editor, gaining experience in diverse industries — law, publishing, public relations, arts, finance and media — developing skills that enable me to thrive in various fields, while getting this degree.

I’ve worked in various capacities — editorial intern, communications intern, social media manager, creative assistant, etc. The experience so far has been wholesome and many lessons have been learnt. Through this journey, a couple of principles that have helped me are:

You’re not just a student

I have learnt to stop seeing myself as just a student. There’s so much more to who I am. After about two years of active work, I certainly didn’t have the experience of a student anymore and to keep introducing myself as just a student was doing myself a disadvantage. I learnt to introduce myself in terms of what I bring to the table, my value, my services, what I could do. There were jobs I took on and my student status never came up. However, depending on the nature of the job, it might have to come up but it is important for you to see yourself as more than that.

Nobody is doing you a favour

When I first started working, I would gladly take on every and any opportunity. As long as I got to work, I didn’t mind that the terms were shitty or I was being taken advantage of. But over time, I realised that people thought they were doing me a favour. It was like, “you’re still in school, you should be grateful that I even considered giving you this job. Even graduates don’t get opportunities like this.” So there I was, doing work of full-time staff because I was just thankful to at least be working. (Bad idea. Don’t do it.) What I’m getting at is that it is important to know your worth. At the end of the day, you’re offering services, you’re putting in time and value. It’s work, not a privilege and you shouldn’t be taken advantage of.

Try

I’m always actively looking for opportunities. I spent significant time over the last couple of years applying for opportunities that caught my eye. I tried to not hold myself back or tell myself I wasn’t qualified enough. I learnt to sell myself as best as I could, to just try. It was easy to come up with excuses why I shouldn’t apply for stuff — isn’t being a law student enough reason? But I honestly just wanted more for myself and if I didn’t put myself out there, more wouldn’t come. Don’t be afraid to try.

Ask

When I first started taking on jobs, I was so afraid to ask. Whatever was given to me, I’d just take it like that and do the work but I’ve learnt to ask. Suffering sucks, but suffering that could have been avoided is the absolute worst.

Your ‘desperation’ shouldn’t lead you to take terrible jobs just for the experience, that you’re thirsty doesn’t mean you should drink gutter water.

Ask for better pay, for better terms of work, for what the job really entails, what the experience offers you. ‘Intern’ can be the biggest scam ever. Don’t be afraid to say no or walk away from offers that aren’t good. Wholesome work experiences should be the goal at the end of the day.

Money

I’m the biggest advocate for getting paid for your work. Collect all your coins please, secure all the bags. Being a student is not synonymous with free work. However, money shouldn’t always be the determining factor. My least paying job has been the most rewarding job of my life so far. I can’t begin to explain the numerous doors it opened for me and the ways in which it helped me grow and develop can’t even be measured in terms of money. So while the pay wasn’t great, the work experience was hands down amazing and if I had let money be the determining factor, I wouldn’t have taken on that job. This is why it’s important to ask questions to understand what it is you’re getting out of your work experiences.

Finding a balance

I won’t lie and say I hacked finding a balance because I did not. Over the years, I grew even more disinterested in school and work became an escape from school. I loved the work I was doing and it was rewarding me in ways being in school wasn’t. Most times, I looked for work that was remote or work that I could show up at once or twice a week. During breaks and strikes, I would take on full-time roles. Just don’t forget you’re a student and there’s a degree waiting to be finished (well). Don’t take on jobs around peak periods and if it’s a long-term role, always let your employer know you will need to take time off. Read, show up for tests and exams, submit assignments, etc.

More than anything, never stop learning. It is important to keep growing and developing your skills, to improve on the things you’re bringing to the table. Research, take on free courses and don’t be afraid to reach out/be part of a community in your industry. Build communication skills, work on being professional and actually doing the damn work. Never feel pressured to take on jobs, never let fear or desperation control your decisions, learning on the job/making mistakes doesn’t mean you’re inadequate or not enough. Deciding to focus on school is a valid decision and you shouldn’t feel like you’re missing out, but it’s also important to remember to take advantage of the opportunities around you and build yourself.

Most importantly, take care of yourself — physically, mentally, emotionally. At the end of the day, what really matters is you.

Ona Akinde

--

--

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice

Opportunities. Advice. CareerPrep for Students and Recent Grads! 👩🏽‍🎓👩🏽‍💻👨🏽‍🎓👨🏽‍💻