#WorkarooAdvice: Nifemi Oluboyede

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2020

Product Manager, Carbon

Product management

Tell us about your career journey so far.

Well, I started out in Banking as an Operations staff and that was my first exposure to Fintechs like Interswitch, Etranzact and SystemSpecs (Remita). The experience piqued my interest in the fintech space and I subsequently joined SystemSpecs as a Product Support Executive. From there, I moved into Product Management.

My PM role at SystemSpecs was more on the business side and was partner-facing, so my move to a more technical role at TeamApt was tough. At the time, I understood products, how they should work, how to sell them, how to support them but not how to build them. I struggled for a while, but I was able to find a better fit for my skill set at Carbon, which is where I am now.

How did you land your first PM role?

My first PM role was in SystemSpecs, the company was undergoing some restructuring and new teams were being formed whilst older ones were being modified. I was a Product Support Exec and I got a call from my Group Head that the Executive Director in charge of the Products & Services division had requested that I be on one of the teams in his division. I was super excited because I always wanted to be a part of creating/improving the product I had been supporting for quite some time. And that was how I landed my first PM role.

What does a PM actually do?

I think that the answer to the question of what a PM does would vary per organization — depending on the size and structure. But in general, it would usually range from or be a combination of Conceptualizing, Strategizing, Designing, Prototyping, Developing, Testing, Validating, Marketing and Selling a Product in its raw (idea) and formed (in the market) states.

How can I tell if I would be a good fit for Product Management?

If you are particularly interested in knowing how things work and not just using them, if you are passionate about designing stuff for others to use and would stop at nothing to get stuff done; I’d like to believe you are up to a good start.

What major skills do I need to land my first PM role?

These days, everyone wants a multifaceted PM, so I’d say that a healthy dose of business, technology, customer experience, project management and knowledge of the market you are operating in should get you there along with someone that is willing to take a chance.

I am currently working with an organization that doesn’t have a PM. How can I still pursue growth or get trained within the organization?

In an organization that has no PM, it may be tough to get training in that regard. You can try to sell the training as something that would be beneficial to the organization. Try to show how investing in the training would help the organization increase profits or get some other benefit.

How essential is programming knowledge to product management?

A good Product Manager should be able to understand how the product works. Programming knowledge is essential if your role requires you to interface with Devs or play a part in the Solution Architecture. Otherwise, knowledge of how technological processes work will suffice.

Is there any certification needed or just experience?

Experience is priceless, but certifications also count. The knowledge you get from the courses is essential and will go a long way in making you a good Product Manager.

Any extra advice?

There are different kinds of Product Managers, you can choose to be one your current abilities allow you to be, or take it a step further and mould yourself into the kind of PM you would like to be.

Nifemi Oluboyede

Editor: Emma Nwosisi

Remember to clap, share and follow Workaroo & Workaroo Advice on Medium for more!

Connect with us on Twitter:

--

--

Workaroo
Workaroo Advice

Opportunities. Advice. CareerPrep for Students and Recent Grads! 👩🏽‍🎓👩🏽‍💻👨🏽‍🎓👨🏽‍💻