Welcome Bravely’s Employee #1: Janice Bacuetes!

Toby Hervey
Bravely
Published in
3 min readNov 13, 2017

We’re so excited to announce that Bravely has hired our first teammate, Janice Bacuetes, joining us as our Head of Operations! We’re thrilled, and feel so lucky to be working with Janice, who has some serious chops coming from Managed by Q and Rent The Runway.

We asked Janice a few questions about joining the team and wanted to share so that we’re not the only ones fortunate enough to get to know Janice.

Why did you decide to join the Bravely team?

I know what it feels like to be in a situation that you don’t know how to navigate. It’s tough and can feel impossible to handle on your own.

I also know how it feels like to speak honestly about what’s holding you back from doing your best work, and not being judged for it. It sounds simple but being heard and having support at work are powerful motivators. When someone has your back, you feel happier, confident, and motivated to tackle any challenge.

We all deserve to work at companies that are equally invested in our happiness as we are in the success of the business. I want to make that a reality. That’s why I’m working Bravely.

Tell us about a time you worked Bravely.

My Bravely moment was when I fought to oversee two teams under my department, despite skepticism and pushback from my manager.

After countless hours of whiteboarding and drafting proposals, a colleague and I developed a vision that would solve issues that made it difficult for my teams to scale with the company. She and I viewed it from every angle, poked holes wherever possible, and asked ourselves hard questions to be sure we built a solution that could be presented to leadership.

I’ve never felt more strongly about something at work and fought for months for the support to move forward. But I didn’t get it.

While the conversations were difficult and the outcome disappointing, I never backed down. I advocated for what I knew would set two different divisions up for long-term success. I worked Bravely for something I believed in.

What are some things outside of work that you’re passionate about?

I love dogs but don’t have my own yet so I volunteer at BARC shelter in Williamsburg during my free time. I’m thinking a puppy would be a great Bravely mascot.

A few months ago, while in between jobs, I founded a group called “Women at Work.” It’s a community that believes the advancement of women happens when we take actions, small or big, every day to move women forward. Whether it’s sharing an opinion that goes against the majority, “managing up” when you have feedback for your boss, or negotiating your salary to get to market value — members are creating change on a daily basis.

If you could invite three people, dead or alive, to dinner, who would they be?

Paulo Coelho, James Corden, and Emma Watson.

Paulo Coelho, the author of The Alchemist, because I was inspired by his book’s message about pursuing what you’ve always wanted to accomplish, your Personal Legend. “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

Emma Watson because I’ve loved every role she’s played on and off-screen — Hermione, Belle (my favorite princess), and activist for gender equality.

James Corden for the laughs, impromptu singing, and the possibility of a surprise guest joining us for dinner. Naturally, we’d carpool home together.

Tell us something about yourself that people never guess!

One time I was the “Mixed Berry” girl in a Dasani Drops ad. There was a full-page spread in the August 2013 edition of Lucky magazine.

Janice, the Mixed Berry girl.

--

--

Toby Hervey
Bravely

CEO & Founder of Bravely // Board President of Out in Tech