Every day could (should?) be laundry day

Ryan Lattanzi
šŸ” wfh
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2024
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Unless you are some kind of psychopath (wow, this article is starting off hot), doing five loads of laundry on a Saturday or Sunday doesnā€™t necessarily sound appealing. As a matter of fact it sounds quite appalling.

This is, of course, assuming that you donā€™t wear the same pair of pants three out of the five days youā€™re working from homeā€¦? If you do: You better check yourself before you wreck yourself. This article may not be for you.

I happen to not be a psychopath, so Iā€™d rather spend my weekends doing things that truly allow me to enjoy this all-too-short life, like doomscrolling Instagram until I come a Reel that makes me think, ā€œOk well thatā€™s enough internet for the day.ā€ (If I canā€™t bring the ā€˜gram with me when I die, gotta enjoy it while I can, right?)

Thankfully, this is made possible by doing laundry (and other annoying yet necessary chores) sporadically throughout the week in smaller batches instead of binge-cleaning. Save the binging for KnowBe4ā€™s heart wrenching rollercoaster hit show ā€œThe Inside Man,ā€ where it belongs.

I can hear it already, ā€œBut what does this have to do with WFH?ā€ Working from home makes tasks like these much easier to get done. You can throw a manageable load in first thing in the morning, and by lunch, your wardrobe is back to smelling like roses instead of (fill in your own noun here). If you are leaving an office at 5 p.m. and getting home at 5:30 p.m., do not deny that a glass of wine or a crisp brewski is what your soul craves over doing chores! (Unless, again, you are a psychopath.)

Breaking chores into smaller yet more frequent chunks makes them less daunting. Of course this is technically possible when not working from an office, but I find it so much easier to do when working from home.

Give it a shot, if you dare.

--

--