How and why I purchased a treadmill

I loved going remote, but not the sedentary lifestyle that came with it

Sophie Aguado
🏡 wfh

--

My second desk

Life as a remote worker

Working at a remote company has given me the best work-life balance I’ve ever experienced. Every morning, dropping my kids off is a 3-minute walk, and once this is done, I dash home, grab a cup of tea, put my headphones on and work heads-down from the privacy and coziness of my home. It’s hard for me to come out of my flow state to take breaks. I only pause work to have lunch with my husband (he is a freelancer).

In time, I have improved my setup. This is the comfiest one I ever had, and has greatly improved my productivity. The downside is this is also the most sedentary I’ve been in my life.

The wake-up call

At a family gathering, I chatted with my sister about how life as a remote worker can be convenient. She dropped some stats about the impact of a sedentary lifestyle on health: The WHO calls it “the fourth leading cause of global mortality,” responsible for about 6% deaths worldwide each year.

Walking around my block to stay active seemed boring, so I started a gym membership. I am not a fan of exercising so I encouraged my husband to tag along for this to be more motivating. Yet…

--

--