Remote Work Hidden Gems

David Osemwengie
🏡 wfh
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2024
Photo by Austin Poon on Unsplash

As a remote employee, I really appreciate the hidden gems that are beyond what may seem obvious. I personally believe the pandemic exposed certain flaws with working in an office setting that just cannot be overlooked. Between time spent commuting back and forth, distractions that naturally occur being in the office, and overall comfort, I can see noticeable differences in the work lifestyles. Working remotely over the past years has been so beneficial that it would be so difficult to convince me otherwise. I’m sure there are many others that can agree as well. Let me dive into a couple of the reasons why it’s been such a positive change.

Rush Hour

Photo by Larry James Baylas on Unsplash

Not the classic movie series starring Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker, but actual rush hour traffic. In the standard 9 to 5, it is common to see jam packed bus/train stops and congested roads as part of the morning and evening hustle and bustle. If I could calculate the total time spent in rush hour traffic, I would take a guess and say it’s too much especially if I don’t have to be in traffic to begin with. That’s time well spent at home catching up on the day and getting a head start on work that’s been calling my name. The hidden gem I found here is that my car insurance premium has decreased. Less mileage on the road saves on insurance quotes, I’ll take that as a win…and I’m sure insurance companies are happy about it too.

Hey…Do you have a sec?

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Distractions. In an office setting, you’re more likely accessible than you would like to be…perhaps. When I’m in the zone, I’d like to keep the momentum for as long as possible. When you’re constantly faced with interruptions, it can stagnate your productivity or even derail you from tasks you had scheduled to tackle. The hidden gem I found here is shared public messaging channels. If there’s a specific need or ask, someone can post in an open channel, than rather feeling pressured to context switch right away, you at least buy yourself sometime to chug away at your tasks or someone with relevant knowledge may be also able to attend to the chat. I’m a big fan of the shared open channels because of the transparency and knowledge sharing.

Comfortability

Photo by 7AV 7AV on Unsplash

Not Egyptian cotton, memory foam nor plush pillows, even though they don’t sound bad at all, but I’m referring to the workspace ambiance. Being at my desk at home, being able to conference into calls for stand up, then having time to troubleshoot through complex issues is the mix that I cherish. I’ve come across problems so challenging that I just want solitude to hear myself think and reason through solutions and next steps. And it’s helpful to bounce ideas with colleagues, all while maintaining a quiet work environment. The hidden gem there is an increase in productivity. I can recall several instances where I’ve faced roadblocks that endangered pushing back deadlines. Having the flexibility of letting my mind wander asynchronously has helped me push forward through barriers and learn quite a bit in the process.

By all means, remote work may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it is certainly mine…with a drizzle of raw agave por favor!

--

--