They say it’s best if you don’t work where you sleep

I say, oops

Buster Benson
🏡 wfh
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2024

--

It makes sense why studies have found that working and sleeping in the same place can lead to sleep issues as well as a variety of other mental health issues related to poor work-life balance. We’re creatures that chronically underestimate the role of context and environment on our well being. I understand this, intellectually. And yet…

Since 2020, I have consistently had a merged work/sleep situation. I sleep, get dressed, eat breakfast, work, and attend meetings within a 10 foot radius of my bed. Confession… 10 feet may in all honesty be a wildly gross overstatement. When one’s work largely involves Slacking, writing, thinking, and more Slacking, often times asynchronously because of time zones and flexible work hours, there is nothing preventing one (aka me) from actually working from one’s (aka my) bed. I know you do it too so stop it with that judge-y face. 🤨

I will be self-righteous about one thing. Despite hearing extensively about the inverse relationship between remote work and pants, I can honestly say that I do wear pants (or shorts) on video calls. I could opine about the holier-than-thou reasons that I do this, but I think it’s probably less due to my own high standards about professional conduct and more because mens jeans have quietly evolved to be about as soft, if…

--

--

Buster Benson
🏡 wfh

Product at @Medium. Author of “Why Are We Yelling? The Art of Productive Disagreement”. Also: busterbenson.com, new.750words.com, and threads.net/@bustrbensn