Female Managers Can Be Corporate Bullies Too

Celebrating seven years since I last had a woman manager.

Eva Grape
Working Moms

--

AI-generate image.

It’s been seven years since I’ve had a woman manager. Safe to say, I’m not missing her — let’s call her Donna.

Donna made me wish I would never again work under female managers. She was many things, but not a good manager. However, during the job interview, she made a very good impression. She was the reason why I took that job because she stroke me as a very competent and determined woman who I wanted to have as a professional mentor.

Donna was indeed very ambitious. She always got what she wanted. When I was working with her, she wanted power, so she got a seat at the management table and a Director title, even though she was merely a team manager of four people.

Everyone knew when Donna was around. With a height of a little over 4'11, she was a force of nature. Everything was impeccable in her posture, the way she dressed, and her make-up. In addition, she had perfect white teeth, a great olive skin tone, and amazing dimples. She looked fairly exotic, so everyone used to turn their heads when they heard Donna’s heels approaching; everyone knew when Donna was writing an angry email by the way her nails sounded on the keyboard.

--

--