When Your Kid’s Friendships Force You to Make New friends.

Maybe it’s time for a change of heart.

Eva Grape
Working Moms

--

AI-generated image.

My friendships now come down to my son’s friends’ mothers. That’s right; I don’t get to choose my lady friends anymore. My almost-four-year-old son does the choosing for me these days, and he doesn’t give a damn if I like his friend's moms or not — I have to show up for his playdates.

This is how I am now forced to socialize with other people in real life, even though I’ve been able to avoid moving my ass to the office once going was resumed back to normal.

And since I have no other choice but to do this, I’m taking this as an opportunity to study other mother-child relationships than myself and other women, which you might find relatable, or at least interesting. So what type is your kid, and what type of mom are you?

The zesty kid and his yelling mother

My son, who I regard as above average in terms of mental skills, is over the moon after this little guy with whom he’d been colleagues in kindergarten last year.

This boy is not the brightest; God bless his heart, but who cares about it when he makes other kids laugh? My own included.

--

--

Eva Grape
Working Moms

Side-hustler mom writes about marriage, relationships at large and psychology.