Dealing With Pressure

Christina Nicolette
Working Well Under Pressure
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

It is not uncommon to encounter situations that will put you under pressure in the business world. I am researching how to do deal with these situations and the best way to overcome them. This skill is important to me because I struggle with anxiety quite often. This can amplify my stress when put under pressure. I think it is beneficial to know how to deal with this because one might not know what to do and make an uninformed hasty decision. It can lead to failure in a project and inability to persevere through difficulty. This is also something that can affect others if it not under your control. If you are in a team setting, your inability to deal with pressure can very well affect a team members progress and that might not be fair to your coworkers. In my research I will ask: What should my first thoughts be when put on the spot? How can I remain relaxed? How can I deal with panic? How can I prepare? How can I pace myself? My goal is to be calm, collected and in control in times of pressure. It is very important to stay in control of your own self before you can eventually lead a team of others. The first step is to take control of your thoughts and body and redirect them into your work ethic and not let it get the best of you. I can measure this by level of panic, confidence or calmness. Finally, to achieve my goal I will research tips, and methods to deal with pressure and with that information there is practice. I think this skill is not something you can really benefit from observation, it is something you need to experience because it is a mental feeling or behavior that will be overcome. Every person is different in their own way so for some it could take longer than others to deal with pressure in important and crucial business situations. This is why trying and practicing to overcome it is the first step to being successful.

--

--