Folio: Days, Weeks, Months

Frame rate and frameworks underpin daily, weekly, and monthly work routines.

Stowe Boyd
Workings
2 min readJul 13, 2024

--

Daily Note Reminders section

In Folio: How Notetaking Becomes Knowledge, I introduced the basics of my Folio system which has created greater leverage for me as a writer, consultant, and researcher than simply adopting Obsidian, its many moving parts, and a handful of plugins. Over the years of my use of Obsidian (and many other competing tools) I have developed patterns of use and organization that help me in my work and sense-making.

In this installment in the Folio series, I will explore some of the time dimensions of Folio. As I wrote in the preceding post — Folio: How Notetaking Becomes Knowledge- This has several complementary elements:

The ultrastructure of Folio is based on what I call frame rate and frameworks. By frame rate I am referring to the time dimension of notetaking. For example, Folio relies quite heavily on flows like daily, weekly, and monthly notes to manage projects of various durations. These notes are managed in specific folders organized my timestamps. (Today’s daily note is titled `2024–05–17`, and is found in the folder `/00 journal/2024 daily notes`. The creation of daily notes is handled by the Periodical Notes plugin, but could be located elsewhere and managed through other means.)

My work is based on several time frames, and the most obvious aspects of that are daily, weekly, and monthly notes. Let me describe that procedurally, rather than structurally, or what I do rather than how things are organized. But as we shall see, that doesn’t mean there is a lack of organization.

The full piece is freely available at Folio: Days, Weeks, Months on Workings.co.

Subscribe to Workings.co to have these posts appear in your inbox. It’s free.

--

--

Stowe Boyd
Workings

Insatiably curious. Economics, sociology, ecology, tools for thought. See also workfutures.io, workings.co, and my On The Radar column.