Happiness and Moderation In All Things

All Things Snap
#WorkOnWriting Project
2 min readFeb 11, 2016

(I’m going to try something a little different here. Play this song as you read. I want to see if reading this while listening to the same music as I was while writing it will add another layer to the experience. Let me know if you think it does.)

If I’ve reflected on anything this week, it’s that life is short.

When someone in your life passes away, death has a funny way of bringing you back to reality. That, along with a good dose of thinking and self-evaluation.

I’ve been taking a hard look at my life and the things I consider to be priorities. It’s incredibly easy to be distracted and lured into a false sense of significance by the mundane parasites that surround us.

There are so many things vying for our attention and recognition. Whether it be a new piece of technology, yet another awards show, the latest buzz words” circulating the interwebz or that self-proclaimed “friend” that brings an endless amount of drama to your life, there is no short supply of noise.

The hurdle is…

How do we divide our attention?

Better yet…

SHOULD I be dividing my attention?

I believe that life is too short. There is too much that we can accomplish if we would just stop and pay attention to the world around us.

If something is monopolizing your time and focus away from the things that really matter, then it’s not an added value to your life, it’s a drain on your ability to enjoy the life that already surrounds you.

Stop trying to have everything. Stop trying to do everything. Take a step back and look at the beauty that is all around. Regardless of your situation, there is beauty in life.

If you feel like there are a ton of “priorities” that require your attention, remember this phrase that has helped me countless times in life:

If everything is a priority, then nothing is.

Stop. Relax. Think. Enjoy moderation in all things and make life matter.

If you think more people need to read this article, please hit the little green heart and share it with someone you care about. Thanks.

--

--

All Things Snap
#WorkOnWriting Project

The official profile of Snapchat Strategy, the premier publication for all things SNAPCHAT!