The “I Just Don’t Have Time” Excuse and How to EASILY Overcome It

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project
2 min readFeb 17, 2016

You’re a “side-hustler” I get it. I am too!

I work a 40-hour job that pays the bills, AND I’m building my own business. It’s a tough life, but it’s so rewarding! Many people never stick to it long enough to see the rewards.

There’s plenty of different reasons why people give up on living out their dreams. I’ve been there and almost threw in the towel plenty of times.

Blogs not receptive? Give up?

Twitter followers still just your high school friends? Give up?

Snapchat daily views=10? Give up?

Course launch flop? Give up?

Podcast never seen “New and Noteworthy”? Give up?

Spouse or other family members not supportive? Give up?

These are all reasons that I have either experienced or heard of people experiencing. But, out of all of these mentioned, there’s one excuse not mentioned that kills businesses everyday…

I Just Don’t Have Time…

Time management is a very BIG issue to conquer if you’re going into business for yourself while working full-time. You have to be willing to make sacrifices, or this excuse will cripple you before you even begin.

How to EASILY overcome the “I just don’t have time” excuse:

  1. Take a survey of your day. Notice times throughout the day where you are wasting time, or could use your time more productively. This could be anything from too much social cough cough SNAPCHAT cough, to too much time playing Angry Birds, to too much TV.
  2. Once you determine wasted times, make the sacrifices necessary to turn that wasted time into productive time.

Easy and simple right? Here’s an example from my life.

I’m purposefully NOT a morning person. I could be, but I simply choose to stay in bed. This is a waste of time! Now I have decided to sacrifice all of that unnecessary, extra sleep to be more productive in the morning hours! This has been a blessing for my writing, as I have discovered that my brain thinks clearer in the mornings than any other point in my day.

It takes making those small sacrifices to ensure that you are the most productive version of you. Time is of the essence ESPECIALLY when you have a full-time job, so make the most of every minute you have!

What do you think about this? Do you struggle with time management? Shoot me a quick comment and let me know.

YOU ROCK

Blake Croft

P.S. This was also recorded in audio by the new Anchor app!

This post was also sent out to my daily email subscribers of the #WorkOnWriting project. If you would like to receive these emails, please opt in here.

(article originally published at blakecroft.com)

--

--

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project

🙏🏻 Disciple of Jesus | Future #ChurchPlanter ⛪️| Use Social Media to help others rediscover the GOOD in the #GoodNews of Jesus! | And I'm a Tech nerd! 😜