To Be a Good Writer, You Have To Be a Good Reader!

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project
2 min readFeb 10, 2016

BLAKE’S PREFIX: When I say “good” I’m not referring to speed or comprehension. It’s more about taking the action to read regardless of the circumstances.

Man….my teachers were right.

Throughout my years of school, when school actually educated our children (different post for a different day), I was always told, “To be a good writer, you have to be a good reader.”

I sort of brushed off this thought for many years until the start of the #WorkOnWriting project.

I’ve always enjoyed reading, but if you’re like me, the attention span seems to fall short sometimes. Just ask my wife Harley about my reading habits. I can pick up a GREAT book and just kill it until…something happens about halfway through…I just stop reading!! I don’t even know why, I just do.

This project though focuses mainly on improving our blogging abilities, so I have taken up the habit of reading other blogs. SO much easier than reading whole books. My mind must prefer shorter, digestible content I guess. Thus my love for Snapchat!

Reading others’ blogs has taught me two things:

  1. The various writing styles of other people. This is amazing because you can pick up on their different writing styles and use your favorite bits in your own writing. You are able to learn and meditate on your own style as a writer while reading.
  2. The inspirations I can receive through other people’s writing. It’s amazing the opinions you will form when you begin to become a reader. You’ll be inspired to write even more based upon those new found opinions. You may even strike a new nerve in your industry.

If you’re going to make the commitment to be a good writer, then you must also make the commitment to be a good reader. It’s a two-for-one kind of deal.

So I challenge you today! Don’t simply write. READ as well! It will broaden your skills even more plus create more engaging conversations in the comments. That goes back to the inspiration thought.

Are you up for the challenge? Let me know in the comments below.

YOU ROCK!

Blake Croft

This post was also sent out to my daily email subscribers of the #WorkOnWriting project. If you would like to receive these emails, please opt in here.

(article originally published at blakecroft.com)

--

--

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project

🙏🏻 Disciple of Jesus | Future #ChurchPlanter ⛪️| Use Social Media to help others rediscover the GOOD in the #GoodNews of Jesus! | And I'm a Tech nerd! 😜